GENERAL INFORMATION FOR
PROPERTY OWNERS

The property tax administration cycle begins with the
determination of the taxable value of property. Each year the
County Assessor and the State Board of Equalization determine
the assessed value of real and persona property located
throughout the County. The property value is assessed to the
persons owning, claiming, possessing, or controlling the
property on the lien date. Revenue and Taxation (R&T) Code
Section (8) 2192 mandates the County levy property taxes for
each fiscal year. Tax liens attach annually as of 12:01 am. on
January 1% preceding the fiscal year for which taxes are levied.
Property owners should notify the County Assessor
immediately of any change of address to ensure that owners
receive important notifications and tax hills.

Filing requirements for new property owners

New property owners must file a signed Change in Ownership
Statement with the County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk
within a specified period of time (R&T 8 480). Failure to file
the required statement will result in penaties added to the
property tax bill. In addition to annual property tax bills, new
property owners will receive one or two supplemental tax bills.
Refer to Supplemental Tax Bills section for additional
information.

Filing requirements for personal property owners

The tax code requires each person owning taxable personal
property with an aggregate cost of one hundred thousand
dollars ($100,000) or more for an assessment year to file a
signed property statement with the County Assessor (R&T §
441(a)) between January 1% and April 1%. Property owners
who fail to file the required statement by May 7 will incur a
penalty of ten percent (10%) of the assessed value of the
unreported taxable property.

Tax Exemption Programs

The Constitution of the State of California and certain
California Laws contain provisions granting exemption from
taxation to certain individuals and entities that meet specified
criteria. The County Assessor administers the homeowner tax
exemption program, which alows homeowners to clam a
$7,000 exemption from the full value of a property used as the
homeowner's primary residence;, and other programs
applicable to properties owned by disabled veterans, religious
organizations, public schools, colleges, and cemeteries. The
County Assessor also administers programs for lessors,
historical property, and four percent (4%) documented vessel
exemptions. Additionally, the County Assessor and the State
Board of Equalization jointly administer the welfare exemption
program. To receive an exemption, a property owner must file
a clam for the exemption with the County Assessor.
Exemptions may not apply to the taxes of certain special
districts or to fixed charges collected with property taxes.



Assessment Appeals

If property owners feel that the assessed value of their property
as determined by the County Assessor is incorrect, they should
contact the County Assessor’s office to discuss the matter. |f
the dispute cannot be resolved, the property owner may file an
appeal with the Assessment Appeals Board. The filing period
is July 2™ through November 30" of each year.

You may visit the County Assessor's website at
http://arcc.co.san-diego.ca.us or contact one of the County
Assessor’s branch offices for additional information regarding
filing requirements for property owners, change of address,
assessed vauation, tax exemption programs, assessment
appeals, or supplemental assessments.

GENERATION OF TAX BILLS

Tax Rate Area

Properties are subject to taxation by a number of taxing
agencies, including the County, cities, school districts, and
various specia districts. The County Auditor, in coordination
with the County Assessor and the State Board of Equalization,
groups properties taxed by the same combination of taxing
agencies into a distinct Tax Rate Area (TRA). The County
Assessor numbers TRAS that appear on the property tax bills.
There are 4,965 such TRAs in the County. The Auditor uses
TRASs in the administration of tax rates and special assessments
and in the distribution of property tax revenue.

Annual Secured Taxes

In preparing the secured tax roll, the County Auditor applies
tax rates to the assessed valuation rolls prepared by the County
Assessor and the State Board of Equalization. Proposition 13
of 1978 limits the maximum ad valorem (according to vaue)
tax to one percent (1%) of the full cash value of property. In
addition to this one percent (1%) ad valorem tax rate
established by Proposition 13, a typical annual secured tax bill
includes tax rates for voter approved debt of school districts
and specia districts. The Auditor computes these tax rates
based on the amount needed to make annual payments for the
interest and principal on general obligation bonds or other
indebtedness approved by the voters prior to July 1, 1978. The
tax rates levied by specia districts are computed by the
districts and transmitted to the County Auditor for inclusion in
thetax roll. The one percent (1%) tax rate appliesto all taxable
property vaues including land, improvements, and personal
property. Debt service tax rates may apply to all property
values, land only, or land and improvements only. Specific tax
statutes determine the taxable base value for the various debt
service rates. The Assessed Vauation starting on page 24
describes the taxabl e base value applicable to each debt service
tax rate included in the current year tax roll.

Special Assessments

State law alows for the collection of special assessments
levied by local government entities through the property tax
bills. Examples of these assessments include special taxes such
as Mello-Roos, and fees or charges assessed by a variety of
specia districts to pay for specific additional services or
benefits to properties located within the districts' boundaries.


http://arcc.co.san-diego.ca.us/�

Page 67 provides a complete listing of fixed charge specid
assessments added to the tax roll. By law, special assessments
cannot be based on property value. Instead, the assessment
amount is based on other property characteristics, or on the
specific benefit a property receives from the services or
improvements provided by the districts. Special assessments
are administered by the entities levying them. All questions
regarding specia assessments must be directed to them by
contacting the telephone number provided on the tax bill or on

page 67.

Unsecured Taxes

Unsecured taxes are not a lien on real property. Examples of
unsecured property include boats, leasehold interests, and
mining clams. In accordance with State law, tax rates for
unsecured property are the secured tax rates levied for the
preceding fiscal year (R&T § 2905). Since we know tax rates
applicable to unsecured property at the lien date, billing for
unsecured taxes startsin January.

Supplemental Taxes

Supplemental taxes are determined in accordance with Article
XIA of the Caifornia Constitution which generally requires
reappraisal of property whenever a change in ownership occurs
or property has new construction. The County Assessor
transmits supplemental assessments to the County Auditor for
inclusion in the tax rolls. The value prorate factor determines
the amount of tax that will be owed from the date of changein
ownership or completion of construction

PROPERTY TAX PAYMENTS

The County mails annual (secured) property tax bills in
October. These bills include property taxes and assessments,
fees, or charges collected with County taxes. It is the
taxpayer’s responsibility to obtain a tax bill and pay the taxes
on their property. Failure to receive or obtain a bill does not
justify the waiver of delinquent penalties. If a taxpayer does
not receive atax bill by November 1%, he or she should make a
request for it to the County Tax Collector. Property tax bills
may be paid in person at any of the County Tax Collector’'s
branch offices, by mail, or online. The property tax bills and
the County Tax Collectors website provide detailed
information on the various options available for payment. A
property owner may pay annual property tax bills in two equal
installments by the dates indicated in the following Important
Tax Dates section (R& T § 2700.1).

Defaulted Taxes

Annually, on or before September 8, the County Tax Collector
publishes a list of current year taxes that have not been paid
and are in default. A newspaper, authorized by the County
Board of Supervisors, publishesthislist.

Unsecured Taxes
Unsecured property taxes become delinquent if unpaid by
August 31" Unsecured taxes are due on the lien date, are
payable on demand, and are subject to a delinquent penalty of
ten percent (10%).



IMPORTANT DATES

January: Jan. 1 Lien Date — Taxes attach to property asalien at 12:01 am.
February: Feb.1 Secured property taxes second installment due.
Mar ch: Mar. 1-15 Affidavits and claim forms for exempt entities filing period (delinquent at 5:00 p.m. on March 15™).
April: Apr.10 Secured property taxes second installment becomes delinquent if unpaid by 5:00 p.m.

Delinquent notices mailed out for unpaid regular secured tax hills.
June: June 30 Fiscal Year ends.

County Assessor deliverslocal roll to the County Auditor.
July: July 1 Fiscal year begins.

July 2 Assessment appeal s filing period begins.

October: Oct. Original secured tax bills mailed out.

November: Nov.1 Secured property taxes first installment due.
Nov.30  Assessment appealsfiling period ends.
December: Dec. 10  Secured property taxesfirst installment becomes delinquent if unpaid by 5:00 p.m.

Refer to the County Treasurer-Tax Collector’ s website at www.sdtreastax.com for additional information regarding taxes and
penalties due, payment options, and payment status.



http://www.sdtreastax.com/�



