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CERTIFIED PRODUCER (CP) CERTIFICATE APPLICATION

To participate in a certified farmers” market (CFM), a producer of fresh fruits, nuts, vegetables, shell eggs,
honey, flowers, and nursery stock must obtain a Certified Producer Certificate (CPC) issued by the County
Agricultural Commissioner (CAC). On-site inspections of the land controlled by the producers and verification
of compliance with the requirements are conducted by the CAC. A CPC is valid for up to twelve months from
the date of issue but no longer than the indicated expiration date on the certificate.

Forms and information for the completion of this application are attached.

ALL APPLICANTS SUBMIT:
o Completed and signed Application form.
o Application fees (see attached “Direct Marketing Fees”) and for renewals any unpaid prior inspections
fees. Method of payment:
o Check or money order payable to: County of San Diego.
o Cash, Visa or MasterCard (walk-in only)
o Commodities Worksheet. (Complete as best you can, inspector may assist at inspection.)

ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS (submit when applicable):
o Authorization form(s) to sell on behalf of no more than two other CPs. (See attached “Authorization To
Sell”)
o Employee Agreement form. (Additional documentation of proof of employment status may be
required.)
o Farm Leases: copy of current notarized agreement. (See attached “Requirements for Farm Leases”)
o Partnerships, Sharecropping Agreements, and similar Contract Agreements:
o Proof of partnership. (i.e. Federal Tax ID number)
o Copy of current agreement. (See attached “Requirements for Partnerships”)

RENEWALS:

e Submit application and fee 30 days prior to current CP certificate expiration date to avoid lapse.
Extensions are not given.

e Certificate will only be renewed when all outstanding fees are paid in full.

PROCESSING:
e An Agricultural Inspector will schedule your property inspection once your application packet is
reviewed and all fees are received.
e The CAC office will contact you when certificate is ready for your signature.
e The certificate is signed and embossed by CAC and then issued to you.
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

CERTIFIED PRODUCERS
RESOURCES/INFORMATION

REGULATIONS (copies available by request):
Specific requirements for participation in a certified farmers’ market are found in:
e California Food and Agricultural Code, Division 17, Chapter 10.5.
e California Code of Regulations, Title 3 commencing with Section 1392.
e California Retail Food Code, Chapter 12.
All agricultural products, when sold or offered for sale at a certified farmers’ market, shall comply with all
applicable laws and regulations.

WEBSITES:
e http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/is/i_& c/cfm.html: California Department of Food and Agriculture - CFM
Program information, links to Laws and Regulations, and market locator.
e http://www.sdcounty.ca.gov/awm/farmers_markets.html: Agriculture, Weights & Measures - CFM
webpage has application packets, list of San Diego markets, and civil administrative penalty guidelines
(copies available by request).

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

e Scales used to sell any agricultural products by weight must be tested and sealed by a county sealer.
Organic producers must be registered and certified (if sales are more than $5,000/year) as required by
the Food & Agricultural Code.

e Packaged commodities must be labeled with identity, responsibility, and quantity in accordance with the
California Code of Regulations.

e Fresh fruits, nuts, and vegetables sold outside of the Certified Farmers’ Market designated area must
conform to size, standard pack, container, and labeling requirements pursuant to the Food and
Agricultural Code.

e See attached “Self-Inspection Checklist” as a helpful guide to complying with CFM regulations.

PROGRAM CONTACT
For more information, please contact the Ag Standards Program at (858) 614-7786 or
AgStandards. AWM @sdcounty.ca.gov
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

CERTIFIED PRODUCER CERTIFICATE APPLICATION

Check one: O New Application O Addition/Amendment Application O Annual Certificate Renewal
NAME: FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
BUSINESS NAME: CERTIFICATE NUMBER:

MAILING ADDRESS: COUNTY FEE: $ PAID WITH:

CITY AND ZIP: DATE RECEIVED:

PHONE: (BUSINESS) PHONE: (OTHER) DCP NUMBER: AWM?20 -DCP-00

E-MAIL ADDRESS: IDM NUMBER: AWM20___ -IDM-00

Public Disclosure

We strive to protect personally identifiable information by collecting only information necessary to deliver our services. All information that may be collected at this site becomes public
record that may be subject to inspection and copying by the public, unless an exemption in law exists. In the event of a conflict between this Privacy Notice and any County ordinance or
other law governing the County's disclosure of records, the County ordinance or other applicable law will control.

Access and Correction of Personal Information

You can review any personal information we collect about you. You may recommend changes to your personal information you believe is in error by submitting a written request that
credibly shows the error. If you believe that your personal information is being used for a purpose other than what was intended when submitted, you may contact us. In all cases, we will
take reasonable steps to verify your identity before granting access or making corrections. See Contact Information section

Production Sites: please provide full address including zip code and parcel ID number (APN).

1. ADDRESS & APN: 2. ADDRESS & APN:
3. ADDRESS & APN: 4. ADDRESS & APN:
5. ADDRESS & APN: 6. ADDRESS & APN:
STORAGE LOCATION (A) MONTHS IN STORAGE (A) STORAGE LOCATION (B) MONTHS IN STORAGE (B)

Other Counties you plan to sell in: Transporting products into another county for the purpose of selling at a certified farmers’ market within that
county is permitted only in the authorized counties listed on this certificate.
Annual fee: $35 to sell in San Diego County only - or - $40 to sell in San Diego County and counties listed below.

Certified Producers you sell for Certified Producers that sell for you

(maximum of two in one year): (maximum of two in one year):
NAME: CERTIFICATE #: DATE DECLARED: NAME: CERTIFICATE #: DATE DECLARED:
NAME: CERTIFICATE #: DATE DECLARED: NAME: CERTIFICATE #: DATE DECLARED:

Additional Producer Information:
Check all that apply: 1 Own growing property [ Lease growing property U Registered Organic U Licensed Nursery O Eggs
O Avocado Maturity O Farming Partnership U Sharecropping Agreement 1 Similar Contractual Agreement with another person

| have reviewed this application and certify that the information provided is true and correct. | further certify that | am knowledgeable and intend to produce in accordance
with good agricultural practices as published by CDFA. See http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/is/i & c/cfm.html for copy of guidelines. |am aware | must also comply with any other
local, state or federal laws. In understand that violations of these regulations may subject me to criminal and/or civil penalties, including fines, suspension and/or revocation
of this Certificate and/or my privilege to participate in certified farmers’ markets.

Lo

Certified Producer’s Signature: Date: auiroRN . BErARTIENT OF

FOOD & AGRICULTURE
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

CP NEW COMMODITIES WORKSHEET Page of

CERTIFIED PRODUCER NAME: FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

CERTIFICATE #:

LOCATION ADDRESS

LOCATION #:

** Seasoning Altering Devices include, but are not limited to: GH-Greenhouses, HP-Hydroponics, CS-Cold Storage and Other.
If none, leave blank.

List all commodities you produce (see examples below). Please print.

**Season | Months
Altering in
Device Storage

Unit of
Measure

Harvest
Season

Estimated
Production

Site Unit of

Amount Measure

# Commodity

Variety

Tomato-Cherry

Red

5

Acres

300

Lbs

Apr-Aug

HP

Apple

Granny Smith

6

Trees

100

Lbs

Aug-Sept

cs 2

Eggs - Chicken

Eggs

100

Hens

3200

Dozen

Jan-Dec

Begonia

Angel wing -white

13

Plants

13

Pots

Jan-Dec

GH

NN NS S

Dianthus

Tiny Rubies -red

100

Sq ft

200

Bunches

Apr-Oct

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

to

I have reviewed this application and certify that the information provided is true and correct. | further certify that | am knowledgeable and intend to produce in
accordance with good agricultural practices as published by CDFA. See http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/is/i & c/cfm.html for copy of guidelines. | am aware | must also
comply with any other local, state or federal laws. In understand that violations of these regulations may subject me to criminal and/or civil penalties, including fines,
suspension and/or revocation of this Certificate and/or my privilege to participate in certified farmers’ markets.

Lodia

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
FOGD & AGRICULTURE

Certified Producer’s Signature: Date:
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application

County of San Diego

CP CERTIFICATE FEES

SUBMIT WITH NEW AND RENEWAL APPLICATIONS:
e Certified Producer’s Certificate Fee to sell in San Diego County only: $35.00

e Certified Producer’s Certificate Fee to San Diego plus other counties listed on certificate: $40.00
(Required to participate in markets outside of San Diego County.)

SUBMIT FOR CHANGES BETWEEN RENEWAL PERIODS:
e Certificate Amendment or Addition (changes made other than at renewal time): $5.00

PAY AT TIME OF INSPECTION:
e Site Inspection Fee: $60.00 per hour
e Travel Charge by Zone: See zone chart below. (Applied according to zip code of inspection site.)

TRAVEL ZONE - ZIP CODE DESTINATIONS

Zone 1: $20.00 Zone 2: $40.00 Zone 3: $60.00 Zone 4: $80.00
91902 92114 91901 91906 91905
91941 92115 91910 91916 91934
91942 92116 91911 91931 92004
91945 92117 91913 91948 92055
91950 92118 91914 91962 92066
91977 92119 91915 91963 92086
92014 92120 91917 91980 92259
92020 92121 91932 92003 92036 East **
92037 92122 91935 92028 92536
92064 92123 91978 92036 West * 92672
92067 92124 92007 92054
92071 92126 92008 92055
92075 92127 92009 92057
92093 92128 92019 92059
92101 92129 92020 92060
92102 92130 92021 92061
92103 92131 92024 92070
92104 92133 92025 92082
92105 92134 92026
92106 92135 92027 *92036 West ** 92036 East
92107 92136 92029 Instructions: Instructions:  East
92108 92139 92040 West of Sunrise Hwy of Sunrise Hwy from
92109 92140 92056 from Zip Code Zip Code Boundary
92110 92145 92065 Boundary 91948 to 91948 to Hwy 79,
92111 92155 92069 Hwy 79, West of Hwy East if Hwy 79 to
92113 92161 92083 79 to Hwy 78, North Hwy 78, South of

92084 of Hwy 78 to S-2, and Hwy 78 to S-2, and

92154 West of S-2 until Zip East of Hwy S-2 to

92173 Code Boundary Zip Code Boundary
92086. 92086.
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

AUTHORIZATION TO SELL
ON BEHALF OF ANOTHER CERTIFIED PRODUCER (CP)

A CP may sell on behalf of another CP at a certified farmers’ market, when written authorization is submitted
prior to certification and when all requirements of the California Code of Regulations Title 3, Section 1392.4
(g) are met. Authorization is valid for one year from the date declared.

Complete and submit with application (must be signed by both parties):

DATE DECLARED:

We acknowledge, with this signed authorization, that:
e Commission sales and buying and selling between certified producers are prohibited.
e Permission to sell on behalf of another CP is contingent upon rules of each CFM.
e A CP shall not represent, nor be represented by more than two other CPs in a 12-month period. (A
different CP may not be substituted until the end of that one year period.)

e Both certificates must be amended simultaneously with the names of the CPs involved in this
authorization.

CP NAME (seller):
SIGNATURE:
DBA:
CERTIFICATE #:
COUNTY*:

The above named certified producer is hereby authorized to sell on behalf of:

CP NAME (for):
SIGNATURE:
DBA:
CERTIFICATE #:
COUNTY™:

*If the producer you are going to sell for, or are granting permission to sell for you, is registered in another
county, you must provide a photocopy of his or her certificate.
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE/EMPLOYEE AGREEMENT

I , a Certified Producer under Title 3, Article 6.5 of the California
Code of Regulations (CCR), do currently authorize or employ the following people as authorized under
FAC847004(b) or employee under CCR81392.2(j) to sell certifiable agricultural products of my own production
for me at a Certified Farmers” Market. I attest that the below named authorized representative, or employee (is
a legal employee, such that all compensation to this employee is based on a fixed salary, and not on a
commission or on a resale basis) and agree that | will provide documentation for verification of this
authorization/employment upon request. This agreement will be available for review at any operating certified
farmers’ market.

NAME NAME

I will immediately notify the endorsing Agricultural Commissioner/Sealer upon termination or change in status
of my authorized representative or employee.

I am aware that any violation of the Direct Marketing Regulations (Title 3, Article 6.5) by me or by my
authorized representative or employees may result in a civil administrative penalty and/or revocation of my
Certified Producer’s Certificate by the Issuing County and/or my privilege to participate in a Certified Farmer’s
Market.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed this of , in , CA.
(Day) (Month) (Year) (County)

Renewal of this authorization/employment agreement is required upon expiration of Certified Producer’s
Certificate.

Certified Producer Certificate No.

Certificate Expiration Date
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

REQUIREMENTS FOR FARM LEASES*

Every certified producer who grows on leased land must provide the CAC (County Agricultural
Commissioner), at the time of application, with a copy of the current notarized written lease agreement which
shall contain the following:

o A clear and concise accurate description of the lease property. The description shall include:
o Present use of the property,
o Dimensions,
o Location, including the assessor’s parcel number (APN).
The cost of the lease.
The beginning and ending dates of the lease.
The date of the agreement.
Signatures of all parties involved. A guarantee of the signatures on the agreement by a notary public
executed at the time of signing by all parties.

000D

To qualify for a certificate the producer who leases land shall:

e Assume all financial risks associated with producing agricultural products.

e Shall meet definitions of Food and Agricultural Code 847000.5.

e Enter into the agreement prior to planting of annual and biannual crops.

e Enter into the agreement prior to or within 30 days after preparing perennial field crops for the
subsequent cropping pattern.

e Enter into the agreement prior to bloom of the tree and vine crops.
e Perform agricultural production upon the leased land.
e Provide additional documentation as required.*

Report any changes in lease immediately to the CAC. Changes in the terms of the lease agreement may
invalidate a certified producer’s certificate issued under such terms. Return all embossed certificate copies to
the CAC when invalidated.

* Reference: Food and Agricultural Code Section 47000.5 and California Code of Regulations, Title 3, Section 1392.9.2
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application
County of San Diego

REQUIREMENTS FOR PARTNERSHIPS, SHARECROPPING,
AND OTHER SIMILAR CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENTS**

Every certified producer that enters into a partnership or similar contractual agreement must provide the CAC
(County Agricultural Commissioner), at the time of application, with a copy of the current notarized written
agreement which shall contain the following:

o A clear and concise accurate description of the lease property. The description shall include:
o Present use of the property used for practicing agricultural arts
o Dimensions,
o Location, including the assessor’s parcel number (APN)
o A description of each party’s financial and material input, and each party’s involvement in the
agricultural production (example: all parties have equitable responsibility).
o The date of the agreement.
o Signatures of all parties involved. A guarantee of the signatures on the agreement by a notary public
executed at the time of signing by all parties.
o Statement of verification that the farm property is under exclusive control of the partnership.

To qualify for a certificate the producer who leases land shall:

e Enter into the agreement prior to planting of annual and biannual crops.

e Shall meet definitions of Food and Agricultural Code 847000.5.

e Enter into the agreement prior to or within 30 days after preparing perennial field crops for the
subsequent cropping pattern.

e Enter into the agreement prior to bloom of the tree and vine crops.

e Perform agricultural production upon the leased land.

e Provide additional documentation as required.

Report any changes in agreement immediately to the CAC. Changes in the terms of the agreement may
invalidate a certified producer’s certificate issued under such terms. Return all embossed certificate copies to
the CAC when invalidated.

** Reference: Food and Agricultural Code Section 47000.5 and California Code of Regulations, Title 3, Section 1392.9.1
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CP (Certified Producer) Certificate Application

County of San Diego

CERTIFIED FARMERS’ MARKET COMPLIANCE RESOURCE

Self-Inspection Checklist for Certified Producers

REQUIREMENTS

COMPLIES

Yes

No

N/A

REMARKS

CERTIFIED SECTION

Certified Producers (CPs)

Certificates valid and posted at booth

Sellers are producers, immediate family members, or
direct employees of producers

Sells only agricultural products

All products of CPs own production

All certifiable products on certificate

Product complies with maturity and quality standards

Certified Producers selling for other CPs

CP selling own products

CP names cross referenced

CPs products separated and identified

Load Lists

Load list completed each market day

Lists complete with:
e Producer name and certificate number
o identity of product as appears on certificate
e quantity sold at market
e name and date of market

ALL SECTIONS OF MARKET

Organic

Valid Registration and Registration number

Proof of Certification (over $5,000/yr)

Other claims (i.e. no pesticides) true

Avocados

Certificate of Maturity

Exemption Permit

Eggs

Labeling (on package or placard)
e Size and grade

Sell by date and pack date

Packer ID number

o “Keep Refrigerated”

Refrigeration: kept at 45 degrees. (Unless in certified
section and meets DEH conditions.)

Weights & Measures

Prepackaged products are labeled with:
e Identity
e  Responsibility
e Quantity (net weight)

Scales are sealed
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