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County of San Biego

Acting Director DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH Acting Assistant Director
FOOD AND HOUSING DIVISION

P.O. BOX 129261, SAN DIEGO, CA 92112-9261
(858)505-6900 FAX (858)505-6848
1-800-253-9933

BODY ART TEMPORARY EVENT PACKET

Attached are instructions for event sponsors and body art participants. The information should be read carefully.

The event sponsor must work with the Department of Environmental Health (DEH), Food & Housing Division
(FHD) to ensure that artists and vendors are in compliance with applicable laws and guidelines. Sponsors must
provide access to a potable water source and restrooms, supply sharps containers for each booth where body art
procedures are offered, ensure adequate trash pickup, and provide for acceptable sharps disposal pickup by an
authorized medical waste hauler.

Event sponsors must ensure that all artists who participate in the event are registered with a Local Enforcement
Agency (LEA) within the State of California, such as the County of San Diego DEH, to engage in the practice
of tattooing, body piercing, branding or application of permanent cosmetics. The Body Art Event Sponsor must
submit an application to obtain a Body Art Event Permit which entails a sponsor fee and a fee for each booth
where body art procedures may be done. Operating without being registered or operating a temporary event
without a permit is a misdemeanor. In addition to the penalties available pursuant to Article 6 (commencing
with Section 119323), a sponsor or practitioner who violates this subdivision shall be subject to closure of the
temporary body art event or a penalty not to exceed three times the cost of the permit or both closure and the
penalty.

If your event will have food vendors, check with our Temporary Event Technician to see if a temporary food
facility sponsor permit is required.

All forms and fees must be completed and submitted either to the above mailing address or in person to the
Department of Environmental Health, Food & Housing Division between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at
5500 Overland Ave. #100, San Diego, CA 92123 for processing. Please submit applications at least 30 days
prior to event. Applications submitted less than 14 days prior to event are subject to late fees. Once the event is
approved revisions are subject to revised application fees.

If you have any questions, please call (858) 505-6809.

Thank you for your cooperation, and we hope you have a successful event.
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BODY ART TEMPORARY EVENT SPONSOR
RESPONSIBILITIES

1.  Submit applications and fees 30 days prior to event.
2. Work closely with the Department of Environmental Health to assure a safe and successful event.
3.  Be familiar with your artist’s operations and Body Art Temporary Event requirements (See attached).
4, Ensure that the facility, cleaning area, and booth requirements are met (see attached).
5. Provide the Department with the following:
a. Completed Body Art Temporary Event Sponsor Application.

b. Booth and Artist List which includes:
1)  Booth # or Location — which should be clearly defined on floor layout.
2)  Booth Name.
3)  Artist Names within each booth.
4)  Registration Number received from the County of San Diego, Department of Environmental
Health (or other California LEA).

c.  Site Map that includes the location of:
1)  Each booth offering body art procedures
2)  Restrooms
3)  Artist-only hand wash stations.
4)  Cleaning and sterilizing areas (if provided).
5)  Vendor supply locations.
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BODY ART TEMPORARY EVENT REQUIREMENTS

FACILITY REQUIREMENTS

1.

2.

w

o o

Obtain all necessary permits to conduct business in the jurisdiction where the event will be held,
including, but not limited to, valid permits issued by a local enforcement agency.

Shows, conventions, and educational demonstration events must be held in permanent building large
enough to enclose the entire event.

Access to potable water supply.

Restrooms that have flush toilets supplied with toilet paper, and hand wash sinks supplied with potable
warm running water, soap, and single-use paper towels to which practitioners have direct access.

Sharps waste containers for each demonstration booth.

Frequent trash pickup from demonstration booths.

The name, telephone number, and directions to an emergency room near the body art temporary event
shall be posted in a conspicuous location.

Certain supplies must be available to the body art practitioners at your event. The supplies that must be
on-hand for purchase include but are not limited to: Pre-sterilized needles, pre-sterilized tubes, pre-
sterilized piercing equipment, plastic bags, barrier film, clip cord coves, plastic wrap, ink caps, nitrile
and latex gloves, single-use tubes of water based and petroleum based lubricants and absorbent dressing
materials. Standard client consent form, medical history forms, aftercare instructions and single-use
instrument logs shall also be available for the practitioner.

Commercial self-contained hand wash stations are required for every 2 booths. Each hand wash station
shall consist of at least:

Warm water (100 degrees Fahrenheit) dispensed from a free-flowing spigot.

An interior container to catch wastewater.

Hand cleanser dispensed from pump or motion detector container.

Single use paper towels.

Must be away from public access and signs posted that hand sinks are for artist’s use only.
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DECONTAMINATION AND CLEANING AREA REQUIREMENTS
The decontamination and cleaning area must be separated from any procedure area by at least five feet or by a
cleanable barrier. This area should include:

1.

Autoclave
Biohazard sink with hot and cold running water.

2.
3. Work area.
4.
5

Ultrasonic cleaning device.
Personal protective equipment to minimally include: disposable face guard/eye protection, disposable
gloves, disposable plastic aprons.

BOOTH REQUIREMENTS

NogakrowhE

Have floor space of at least 50 square feet for every practitioner working in that booth.

Floor, tables and chairs must be non-porous and easily cleanable.

Used exclusively for performing body art.

Constructed with a partition of at least three feet in height separating the procedure area from the public.
Equipped with adequate light available at the level where the practitioner is performing body art.

Used exclusively for performing body art.

Not allow animals within the confines of the booth.
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ARTIST REQUIREMENTS

1. Current Certificate of Registration issued by County of San Diego (or other California LEA). Certificate
may be displayed or in a folder. Note: If certificate is issued by jurisdiction outside of San Diego, it is
valid in San Diego for no more than five consecutive days, or 15 days total, in any one calendar year.
Photo Identification. Make available upon request by the inspector.
3. Evidence of bloodborne pathogens training (BBPT) taken within a year of the date of the event.
Certificate may be displayed or in a folder. Note: If obtaining your Certificate of Registration from the
County of San Diego you must obtain your BBPT from an approved provider. See list of County of San
Diego approved trainers.
Use only approved equipment; instruments that are not of safe design may be subject to impoundment.
Use appropriate personal protective equipment while performing body art procedures.
a. At a minimum this includes the use of non-latex or nitrile gloves, latex gloves are approved

for piercing activities or cleaning activities only.
6. Aurtists shall properly cover or bag their tattoo machine & clip cord when in use, and use barrier film or
bags for other procedural items.
Artists shall not smoke, eat or drink while performing a body art procedure.
8. Aurtists shall clean and disinfect client chair, table and tattoo machine between clients.

a. Acceptable disinfectants include Opti-cide 3, Madacide, EcoTru Professional or any EPA-

registered hospital-grade cleaner and disinfectant.
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Instructions for Obtaining a Registration Number:

Complete the practitioner registration application and obtain Bloodborne Pathogens Training from an
organization on the approved list of Bloodborne Pathogens trainers. You may obtain an updated list of
trainers on our website at: www.sdcountybodyart.org. Submit the application with required fee ,
documentation of Hepatitis B vaccination (or Declination — see below), and a copy of your current (within
the last year) Bloodborne Pathogens Training Certificate to the event sponsor who will forward it to the
County of San Diego, Department of Environmental Health. Payment can be in the form of a check or
money order made payable to the “County of San Diego.”

The Practitioner Registration renews on an annual basis, if you do not need to maintain an annual
registration with the County of San Diego and would like to avoid paying an annual fee, please check the
appropriate box on the application.

Registration applications submitted without fees will not be processed and the practitioners will not be
allowed to work.

If you are applying for Registration for the first time, your Practitioner Registration will be delivered
to you at your upcoming event or mailed to you at the address you provide.

If you have any questions, please call (858) 505-6809, or e-mail fhdtempevents@sdcounty.ca.gov
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HEPATITIS B
DECLINATION FORM

Appendix A to Section 1910.1030-Hepatitis B VVaccine Declination

I understand that due to my occupational exposure to blood or other potentially infectious materials | may be at risk of
acquiring Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) infection. As am employee, | have been given the opportunity to be vaccinated with
Hepatitis B vaccine, at no charge to myself. However, | decline the Hepatitis B vaccination at this time. | understand that
by declining this vaccine, | continue to be at risk of acquiring Hepatitis B, a serious disease. If in the future I continue to
have occupational exposure to blood or other potentially infectious materials and | want to be vaccinated with Hepatitis B
vaccine, | can receive the vaccination series at no charge to me from my employer.

Body Art Practitioner Signature Date

Employer Signature (If none, please indicate) Date
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BODY ART TEMPORARY EVENT SPONSOR APPLICATION

EVENT INFORMATION

Name of Event:

Event Start Date: Event End Date:

Event Location:

Time of Setup: Hours/Days of Operation:

SPONSOR INFORMATION
Event Sponsor Name: Phone:
Sponsor Address: Email Address:

EVENT DETAILS

Expected number of booths offering body art: Expected number of body art supply vendor booths:
Will there be any body suspension demonstrations? [] Yes [ No Expected number of artists offering body art:
Will there be any Mobile Body art Vehicles?: [1 Yes [ No Have all body artists been advised of the Health Department
Are they permitted through County of San Diego? [] Yes [ No Requirements as stated in the Body Art Temporary Event
Ensure the permit information is provided on booth list Requirements? [1 Yes [[] No Initials:
Will there be any food vendors with this event? OyYes No

If yes, do all food vendors have the required current temporary food facility health permit? [ Yes [ No

(if there will be food vendors at this event, please add these vendors on separate list )

Will there be a planning/safety meeting for body art participants? OYes [ No Ifyes, please complete the following:

Meeting Date: Meeting time: OaAam [PM Meeting location:

If not, state reason:

Has an Infection Prevention Control Plan been Submitted? OYes [No
Will cleaning and sterilizing facilities be provided for body artists? [ Yes [ No

If yes, where will they be located? Date of Last Biological Indicator Test:

If not, you must communicate the necessity for each artist to bring enough equipment to do the entire event. If an artist should run out of

sterilized equipment, they must cease offering body art. Do you understand this requirement ? [] Yes [J No Initials:

Water source: [] Small Water system  [] Public | Waste Water Disposal: [] Public Electrical Source: [ Public Utility
[ Septic / Private Well [ Septic / Private [] Generator (s)

Number of restrooms within building with hot & cold running water: Number of flush toilets:

Number of Artist-only Hand Wash Stations to be provided (see page 4, #7) Number of public hand washing facilities;,

Licensed Medical Waste Disposal Co. Contracted: [] Yes [1No Name & Phone # of Company:

Method and frequency of garbage / trash disposal including pickup from booths:

EVENT FEES
Fee Schedule: Make checks payable to: County of San Diego Computation of Fees:
Temporary Event Sponsor base fee $465 3
EH Specialist Rate # of booths x $52.00 per bocth $
Total Amount Due: $
Applicant Signature: Date:
Print Name:
Dept Approval Signature: Date:
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Artist List

Artist Name Body Art Practitionerl Hep B BBP Training| Local Artist | County Where Registered Booth Name Booth# | Person in charge
Registration #
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[ No [] No [] No
[]Yes | [T ves (] Yes
[INo [ ] No [ ] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[ No [] No [] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[ No [] No [] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[INo [ ] No [ ] No
[ Yes [] Yes (] Yes
[ No [] No [] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[INo | [ No [] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[ No [] No [] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[INo [] No [] No
[ Yes [] Yes [] Yes
[ No [ ] No [ ] No




County of San Biego

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

FOOD AND HOUSING DIVISION
5500 Overland Ave., Suite # 110, San Diego, CA 92123
P. O. Box 129261, San Diego, CA 92112-9261
(858) 505-6666 | (800) 253-9933 | www.sdcdeh.org

APPLICATION FOR BODY ART PRACTITIONER REGISTRATION

TO PERFORM TATTOOING, BODY PIERCING, BRANDING, AND PERMANENT COSMETICS
Pursuant to California Health and Safety Code, Chapter 7, Sections 119306 and 119307 and
San Diego County Code Sections 65.107 and 66.304

Last Name: First Name: Middle Initial:

Applicant Mailing Address:

City, State, Zip:

Applicant Phone #: ( ) E-mail: @

Body Art Site Name (all locations):

Body Art Site Address:

City, State, Zip:

Please indicate the services you will be providing: [] Tattocing [] Permanent Cosmetics [ ] Body Piercing [ ] Branding

First Time Registrant: [JYes []No Identification (Age 18 orolder?): [ Yes [ No

Would you like this to be an annual Registration? []Yes []No (one-time registration)

Identification Type: [] Drivers License [] Government ID [] Other:

Hepatitis B Vaccination Documentation:

[] Certification of Completed Vaccination [] Laboratory Evidence of Immunity [ Vaccination Declination

Bloodborne Pathogen Training Proof Available (attach copy of certificate): []Yes [ No
Training Provider : Approved Trainer: []Yes [ No  Training Date: / /

Please note that submittal of this application does not constitute the issuance of a Body Art Practitioner Registration Certificate.

The undersigned hereby applies for a Body Art Practitioner Registration. | declare under penalty of perjurty that to the best of my
knowledge and belief, the information | have provided is true and accurate. | understand that to become and remain registered and eligible
to provide Body Art services in San Diego County, | must pay the annual registration fee established by the County under applicable law. |
also agree to conform to all conditions, orders, and directions issued pursuant to the California Health and Safety Code and all applicable
County and City Ordinances.

Print Name Date Signature
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Note: This check list should be provided at each booth during event set-up.

PRACTITIONER REQUIREMENTS FOR TEMPORARY EVENTS

This check list is designed for temporary event organizers and participating practitioners. This guidance document contains a list of
requirements that practitioners are expected to understand and implement at a Temporary Body Art Event. These requirements will meet public
health and safety standards established in California's H&S Code Chapter 638 Safe Body Art Law (Section 119308, 119309, 119310,
119311,119317 and 119318). Compliance will be verified by staff

O

O

ALL PRACTITIONERS MUST HAVE A VALID PRACTITIONER REGISTRATION A registration is considered valid if it was issued from any
jurisdiction within California; valid within one year of the issue date; and or valid within the noted expiration date.

PRACTITIONER REGISTRATIONS MUST BE VISUALLY DISPLAYED The registration must be present at the fime of the event. If you do

not want to be interrupted during your inspection, visually display your registration on you or at your booth. If your registration does not
have a current ID photo be prepared fo provide a photo ID upon request.

NO FOOD OR DRINK No food, drink, or tobacco products are allowed in the booth. Clients and practitioners shall not eat or drink within
the booth. If the client or you needs fo eaf, drink or smoke, the client and you must leave the booth. Remember, the booth is the
procedure area.

CLEAN ENVIRONMENT The only way to maintain a clean and sanitary environment in the procedure area is fo be neat and organized.
You should have only items necessary to apply your craft. Store personal effects out of the way and away from the work stations in the
booth. Under the table is appropriate. Keep all frash generated in the lined waste can. Help notify the sponsor to maintain regular trash
pick-up from your booth. Remember, the booth is the procedure area.

FORMS AND PAPERWORK You are required to have alf necessary forms and documents to perform body art. These forms include but are
not limited to: Client Consent; Medical History; Aftercare Instructions; Client Procedure Log; and or separate Procedure Log to document the
use of disposable instruments; disposable instrument invoice; jewelry mill certifications; efc.

WASH YOUR HANDS /tis your responsibility! Wash and dry vour hands with the soap and water just prior fo and affer every
procedure. Commercial hand washing stations have been provided. Make sure you know where your closest stations are. Nofify the
sponsor fo ensure that hand washing stations are maintained for your use. Remember that hand sanitizer cannot take the place of hand
washing. By washing your hands properly and at the appropriate times you will not only protect the health of your customers but your own
health as well.

PERSONAL PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT For every procedure, puf on a new disposable bib or lap pad, and clean disposable
examination gloves. If the gloves are compromised either by touching objects outside of the client and direct work station or develop a

hole or rip, throw away that set. wash your hands and put on a new pair. If the gloves are removed before completion of the procedure,
throw away that set, wash your hands and put on a new pair.

TATTOO MACHINE "Bag" the taftoo machine as well as the power cord with a disposable plastic sheath. Discard the plastic sheath after
the completion of each procedure. Inspect and clean the machine after each use.

SINGLE USE Needles, ink caps, gloves, aprons, paper towels, dental bibs, cord covers, machine bags, plastic wrap, stencils, marking pens or
other coverings for chairs and workstations shall be single use. Document the use of disposable instruments such as needle fubes in peel
packs on the client procedure log, along with the date and name of the practitioner. Maintain instrument purchase records by the
practifioner/tattoo company of use. JEWELRY shall be pre-sterilized in individual peel packs.

RE-USEABLE INSTRUMENTS Re-usable instruments must he presterilized in peel packs. The peel pack must have the date of sterilization

and the initials of person who completed the sterilization joad. SOILED INSTRUMENTS Affer the procedure, place soiled instruments in a

hard plastic container with a water "tight" fitting lid. Clearly label the container with the confents (i.e. soiled or dirty instruments) and use for
the direct transfer of the instruments tfo the Decontamination Sterilization Station.

DISINFECTION AND DECONTAMINATION Clean and disinfect all surfaces or objects in the work station thaf have been in contact with
the client or materials utilized during the procedure with an industry standard disinfectant ltems include, butf are not limited fo: arm rests,
chairs, tables, trays, fattoo machines etfc.

SHARPS WASTE A properly labeled container for sharps waste must he provided by the event organizer. Dispose of all used needles,
razors, grommets, and other sharps waste in the sharps container. Locate the sharps container within arms reach of the practitioners. Return
the sharps container to the event organizer for disposal at the conclusion of the event.
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