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SUBJECT: PARAMEDIC ACCREDITATION Date: 7/01/2010

I.  Authority: Health and Safety Code, Division 2.5, Sections 1797.185 and 1797.214.

Il. Purpose: To establish a mechanism for a paramedic to become accredited to practice in
San Diego County.

lll. Definition: Accreditation is authorization by the Medical Director of the County of San Diego
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) agency to practice paramedic skills within a specific
jurisdiction as required by a specific local EMS agency. Accreditation allows local EMS
agencies to ensure that paramedics are trained in the optional skills and oriented to the local
system.

IV. Policy: A paramedic must be accredited by the County of San Diego, Health and Human
Services Agency, Emergency Medical Services Branch (EMS) in order to practice as a
paramedic in San Diego County.

A. Inorder to be eligible for initial accreditation an individual shall:

1. Possess a current, valid California paramedic license.

2. Complete and sﬁbmit an application for accreditation to EMS.

3. Successfully complete an accreditation workshop as prescribed by EMS.  This
workshop shall not be less than six (6) hours nor exceed 12 hours in length, and will
include:

a. Orientation to the local EMS system policies, procedures and protocols, radio
communications, hospital/facility destination policies/practices, and other unique
system features.

b. Training and/or testing in any optional procedures authorized by the County of
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5.

6.

San Diego EMS Medical Director, in which the individual has not been trained or
tested.
Provide documentation of training or testing from another jurisdiction for local optional
scope items. -
Pay the established accreditation fee to EMS.

Possess a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) course completion card.

B. Initial accreditation shall be effective for two years, or until the expiration date of the

California paramedic license, whichever is earlier.

1.

If the paramedic accreditation applicant does not complete accreditation
requirements within thirty calendar days, then the applicant must complete a new
application and pay a new fee to begin another thirty-day period.

A paramedic may apply for initial accreditation no more than three times in a twelve-

month period.

C. Provisional Accreditation

1.

3.

Paramedics who have completed all requirements for initial accreditation other than
the orientation requirement (1V.A.3. above) may be accredited on a provisional basis
for up to 90 days pending the completion of the San Diego County Accreditation
Workshop.

Provisional accreditation may be extended only with special authorization from the
County of San Diego EMS Medical Director.

Provisional accreditation status shall be allowed only once for a paramedic.
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4. Individuals with provisional accreditation must:
a. Work solely within the California paramedic Scope of Practice.
b. Work as a second paramedic, only with a fully accredited (non-provisional) San

Diego County paramedic.

D. Continued accreditation (re-accreditation)

Accreditation to practice shall be continuous as long as EMS requirements are met.
These requirements are as follows:

1. Possession of a valid Califomia paramedic license, and

2. Maintenance of current ACLS training (every two years).

E. Accreditation Lapse

Individuals who have allowed their paramedic accreditation to lapse for greater than one
year shall, in addition to the requirements listed above in Section IV. D, successfully
complete the examination portion of the Accreditation Workshop and pay the es_tablished
accreditation fee to EMS.
F. EMS shall notify individuals applying for accreditation of the decision to accredit within 30
days of submission of a complete application.
G. EMS shall submit the names and dates of accreditation of all individuals it accredits to the
EMS Authority, within twenty working days of accreditation.
H. During an interfacility transfer, an individual who is accredited as a paramedic in one
jurisdiction may utilize the paramedic scope of practice in another jurisdiction according to

the policies and procedures established by the accrediting local EMS agency.
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|. During a mutual aid response into another jurisdiction, a paramedic may utilize the
paramedic scope of practice according to the policies and procedures established by the
accrediting local EMS agency.

J. EMS reserves the right to require periodic mandatory training on new skills, training on
new or revised protocols, or remedial training as a condition of continued accreditation.

K. EMS reserves the right to withdraw or restrict accreditation pending resolution of
disciplinary issues, in accordance with state disciplinary regulations and local

policy.

Document revised 7/1/2010

Mol g am Vot

Administration EMS Medical Director




