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l. Authoritv: California Health and Safety Code, Sections 1255.7 and 1798,

California Penal Code 27 1.5.

ll. Purpose: To describe guidelines for steps to be followed when an individual

surrenders an infant appearing to be <72 hours old, under the California Safely

Surrendered Baby Law of 2001, to EMS staff at a San Diego Coun$ Fire Station

that is staffed 24 hours/day.

lll. Guidelines:

EMS Personnel will accept infants brought to them with the intent of surrendering

the child. The infant should be accepted for surrender even if the child's age is

suspected to exceed 72 hours.

A. EMS personnel should follow their own departmental policies when an infant is

surrendered to their care.

B. A "Newborn Safe Surrender Kit" shall be used, and a confidential infant lD

bracelet shall be placed on the newborn's ankle, and the number code from

the bracelet recorded on the infant's Prehospital Patient Report (PPR).

C. EMS personnel will perform a rapid assessment of the infant to identify

immediate medical needs, and this assessment will be documented on the

infant's PPR. lf there is any suspicion of child abuse, law enforcement should

be contacted immediately.

D. EMS personnel shall offer care to the mother if she is the caretaker

surrendering the infant. Documentation of the motheds assessmenUcare

should be on a separate PPR ¡f provided.
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E. The caregiver surrendering the infant should be encouraged to immediately

complete the "Newborn Family Medical History Questionnaire". lf necessary,

EMS personnel should assist the caregiver in completing the document. The

caregiver may also fill out the questionnaire at a later time and return via mail.

The infant should then be transferred to the most appropriate Emergency

Department as directed by the base hospital. A copy of the infant's PPR

should be provided to hospital staff.

EMS personnel must notify County of San Diego Health and Human Services,

Child Welfare Services by phone, advising them of a surrendered infant

incident, and must complete a Child Protective Services (CPS) report,

submitted according to agency protocol.
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