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l Authority: California Health and Safety Code, Sections 1255.7 and 1798,
California Penal Code 271.5.

il. Purpose: To describe guidelines for steps to be followed when an individual
surrenders an infant appearing to be <72 hours old, under the California Safely
Surrendered Baby Law of 2001, to EMS staff at a San Diego County Fire Station
that is staffed 24 hours/day.

lll.  Guidelines:

EMS Personnel will accept infants brought to them with the intent of surrendering

the child. The infant should be accepted for surrender even if the child’s age is

suspected to exceed 72 hours.

A. EMS personnel should follow their own departmental policies when an infant is
surrendered to their care.

B. A“Newborn Safe Surrender Kit" shall be used, and a confidential infant ID
bracelet shall be placed on the newborn’s ankle, and the number code from
the bracelet recorded on the infant's Prehospital Patient Report (PPR).

C. EMS personnel will perform a rapid assessment of the infant to identify
immediate medical needs, and this assessment will be documented on the
infant’s PPR. If there is any suspicion of child abuse, law enforcement should
be contacted immediately.

D. EMS personnel shall offer care to the mother if she is the caretaker
surrendering the infant. Documentation of the mother's assessment/care

should be on a separate PPR if provided.
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E. The caregiver surrendering the infant should be encouraged to immediately

complete the “Newborn Family Medical History Questionnaire”. If necessary,
EMS personnel should assist the caregiver in completing the document. The

caregiver may also fill out the questionnaire at a later time and return via mail.

F. The infant should then be transferred to the most appropriate Emergency
Department as directed by the base hospital. A copy of the infant's PPR
should be provided to hospital staff.

G. EMS personnel must notify County of San Diego Health and Human Services,
Child Welfare Services by phone, advising them of a surrendered infant
incident, and must complete a Child Protective Services (CPS) report,
submitted according to agency protocol.
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