UCCE Directory



Jim Bethke
County Director
Phone: 858-822-7673
E-mail: jabethke@ucanr.edu


Farm advisors conduct applied research and carry out educational programs to address the needs of agricultural producers in San Diego County. Their specialties reflect the diversity of San Diego agriculture. Farm advisors develop close working relationships with the clientele of the industries they serve, sharing their collective expertise in a wide range of subjects: integrated pest management and plant protection (entomology, plant pathology, and weed science); irrigation, reclaimed water, and water quality issues; waste management and agricultural recycling; and the economics, production, and marketing of local crops.

Agricultural Information
Phone: 858-822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

James Bethke
Floriculture, Nursery crops, and Pest Management Advisor
Phone: 858-822-7673
e-mail: jabethke@ucanr.edu

Ramiro E. Lobo
Small Farms & Agricultural Economics Advisor
Phone (858) 752-4716
e-mail: relobo@ucanr.edu

Cheryl A. Wilen, Ph.D.
Area Integrated Pest Management Advisor
Phone: (858) 822-7795
e-mail: cawilen@ucanr.edu

Oli Bachie
Agronomy Advisor, based in Imperial County
Phone: 760-362-9474
e-mail: obachi@ucanr.edu

Carmen Gispert
Viticulture Advisor, based in Riverside County
Phone: 760-342-2466
e-mail: cgispert@ucanr.edu

Jennifer Pelham
Environmental Horticulture Advisor
Phone: 858-8227839
e-mail: jlpelham@ucanr.edu

Sonia Rios
Area Subtropical Horticulture Advisor, based in Riverside County
Phone: 951-683-6491 Ext. 224
e-mail: sirios@ucanr.edu



The Home Horticulture Program provides horticulture and pest management information to county residents who grow edible and ornamental plants for their personal use. The program promotes integrated pest management, landscape water conservation, recycling of green waste, and other practices that help improve the quality of our urban environment. Master Gardener volunteers are recruited and trained to provide home horticulture information to the public through office and phone consultations, educational exhibits, gardening seminars, and other outreach activities.

Master Gardener Volunteers'
Gardening & Pest Information Hotline
9AM to 3PM, Mon-Fri
Phone: (858) 822-6910
E-mail: help@mastergardenerssandiego.org

Scott Parker - Program Representative III
Phone 858-822-6932
E-mail: saparker@ucanr.edu 



The Nutrition, Family, and Consumer Science program provides San Diego consumers and families with science-based information about foods and nutrition, food safety, and family resource management. Nutrition education targeting limited income families and youth is available through the Expanded Food Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP). We offer educational updates and resource materials to professionals including dietitians, teachers, public health educators, community health workers, child care providers, and senior service case workers.

Nutrition, Family, and Consumer Science Information
Phone: (858) 822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Patti Wooten Swanson, Ph.D.
Nutrition, Family & Consumer Science Advisor
Phone: 858-822-7719
e-mail pwswanson@ucanr.edu



The Natural Resources program addresses a range of local issues, including watershed management, inland and coastal water quality issues, non-native species, land use planning, and invertebrate pests. Advisors promote sound management and conservation of San Diego County's marine and natural resources through research, education, and good working relationships with a broad range of people. Our clientele includes: private land owners; resource management professionals; local, State, and Federal government agencies; the agriculture industry; conservation and environmental organizations; and users of public lands and waterways.

Natural Resources Information
Phone: (858) 822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Christopher McDonald
Natural Resource Advisor, based in San Bernardino County
Phone: (909) 387-2242
e-mail: cjmcdonald@ucanr.edu

Niamh Quinn
Invertebrate Pest Advisor, based in Orange County
Phone: (949) 653-1813
e-mail: nmquinn@ucanr.edu



The objective of the 4-H Youth Development Program is to help young people discover their potential and grow into competent, contributing, and caring citizens. Learn-by-doing activities, youth-adult partnerships, and research-based educational programs help kids enhance their leadership abilities and develop a wide range of life skills.

4-H Youth Development Information
Phone: (858) 822-7730
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Sue S. Manglallan
4-H Youth Development Advisor
Phone:  (858) 822-7773
e-mail: ssmanglallan@ucanr.edu


Roland Hills
Administrative Assistant II
Phone: 858-822-7933
e-mail:  rhills@ucanr.edu

Quang “Hogan” Tong
Administrative Assistant II
Phone: 760-752-4727
e-mail qtong@ucanr.edu

Erin Spaniel
Administrative Assistant I
Phone: 858-822-7919
e-mail enthomps@ucanr.edu

Sue Lake
Administrative Assistant III
Phone 858-822-7854
e-mail: slake@ucanr.edu

Lori Renstrom
Administrative Officer III
Phone:  858-822-7717
e-mail:  llrenstrom@ucanr.edu



Jan Gonzales
County Education Supervisor II
Phone: (858) 822-7718 
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu

Ben DiAnna
Digital Media Specialist
Phone: (858) 822-7739 
Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu

Lorin Lilikoi Lima
Staff Research Associate (GIS Coordinator)
Phone: (858) 822-7679 
Email: llima@ucanr.edu

Ms. Mary Maser
Program Representative: EFNEP
Phone: 760-752-4721 
Email: mlmaser@ucanr.edu

Debbie McAdams
Community Education Specialist II: 4-H Program
Phone: (858) 822-7735 
Email: dmcadams@ucdavis.edu

Scott Parker
Community Education Specialist III: Master Gardener & IPM
Phone: (858) 822-6932 
Email: saparker@ucanr.edu

Lori Renstrom MA
Administrative Officer III
Phone: (858) 822-7717 
Email: llrenstrom@ucanr.edu

Shirley Salado
Community Education Supervisor II: EFNEP
Phone: 858 822-7724 
Email: scsalado@ucanr.edu

Margarita Schwarz
Community Education Specialist: Adult EFNEP
Phone: (858) 822-7734 
Email: mschwarz@ucanr.edu

Gary Tanizaki
Staff Research Associate
Phone: (858) 822-7689 
Email: gtanizaki@ucanr.edu

Bryan Vander Mey
Field Research Supervisor I
Phone: (760) 752-4724 
Email: bvandermey@ucanr.edu

Stella Weaver
Community Education Specialist II: Youth EFNEP
Phone: (858) 822-7720 
Email: sweaver@ucanr.edu

Marianne Whitehead
Agricultural Technician
Phone: (760) 752-4722 
Email: mwhitehead@ucanr.edu

Lori Corkidi
Agricultural Technician
e-mail: lcorkidi@ucanr.edu