Farm and Home Advisor Office Directory

FHA_Logo150x150

FARM & HOME ADVISOR DEPARTMENT HEAD

Jim Bethke
County Director
Phone: 858-822-7673
E-mail: jabethke@ucanr.edu

AGRICULTURE

Farm advisors conduct applied research and carry out educational programs to address the needs of agricultural producers in San Diego County. Their specialties reflect the diversity of San Diego agriculture. Farm advisors develop close working relationships with the clientele of the industries they serve, sharing their collective expertise in a wide range of subjects: integrated pest management and plant protection (entomology, plant pathology, and weed science); irrigation, reclaimed water, and water quality issues; waste management and agricultural recycling; and the economics, production, and marketing of local crops.

Agricultural Information
Phone: 858-822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Gary S. Bender, Ph.D.
Farm Advisor - Avocado, Citrus, Subtropical & Deciduous Fruit
Phone 760-752-4711
e-mail: gsbender@ucanr.edu

Ramiro E. Lobo
Small Farms & Agricultural Economics Advisor
Phone (858) 752-4716
e-mail: relobo@ucanr.edu

David A. Shaw
Farm Advisor - Landscape, Turf, Christmas Trees & Irrigation Management
Phone: 760-752-4720
e-mail: dshaw@ucanr.edu

Cheryl A. Wilen, Ph.D.
Area Integrated Pest Management Advisor
Phone: (858) 822-7795
e-mail: cawilen@ucanr.edu

 

HOME HORTICULTURE/GARDENING

The Home Horticulture Program provides horticulture and pest management information to county residents who grow edible and ornamental plants for their personal use. The program promotes integrated pest management, landscape water conservation, recycling of green waste, and other practices that help improve the quality of our urban environment. Master Gardener volunteers are recruited and trained to provide home horticulture information to the public through office and phone consultations, educational exhibits, gardening seminars, and other outreach activities.

Master Gardener Volunteers'
Gardening & Pest Information Hotline
9AM to 3PM, Mon-Fri
Phone: (858) 822-6910
E-mail: help@mastergardenerssandiego.org

Scott Parker - Program Representative III
Phone 858-822-6932
E-mail: saparker@ucanr.edu 

 

NUTRITION, FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE

The Nutrition, Family, and Consumer Science program provides San Diego consumers and families with science-based information about foods and nutrition, food safety, and family resource management. Nutrition education targeting limited income families and youth is available through the Food Stamp Nutrition Education Program (FSNEP) and the Expanded Food Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP). We also conduct the 5 a Day Power Play! campaign serving community youth organizations and after school programs. We offer educational updates and resource materials to professionals including dietitians, teachers, public health educators, community health workers, child care providers, and senior service case workers.

Nutrition, Family, and Consumer Science Information
Phone: (858) 694-2845
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Patti Wooten Swanson, Ph.D.
Nutrition, Family & Consumer Science Advisor
Phone: 858-822-7719
e-mail pwswanson@ucanr.edu

 

MARINE & NATURAL RESOURCES

The Marine and Natural Resources programs address a range of local issues, including watershed management, inland and coastal water quality issues, non-native species, and land use planning. Advisors promote sound management and conservation of San Diego County's marine and natural resources through research, education, and good working relationships with a broad range of people. Our clientele includes: private land owners; resource management professionals; local, State, and Federal government agencies; the agriculture and boating industries; conservation and environmental organizations; and users of public lands and waterways.

Marine and Natural Resources Information
Phone: (858) 694-2845
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Leigh Taylor Johnson
Marine Advisor
Phone: 858-822-7802
e-mail: ltjohnson@ucanr.edu

Carl E. Bell
Regional Advisor - Invasive Plants
Phone: 858-822-7796
e-mail: cebell@ucanr.edu

 

4-H YOUTH DEVELOPMENT

The objective of the 4-H Youth Development Program is to help young people discover their potential and grow into competent, contributing, and caring citizens. Learn-by-doing activities, youth-adult partnerships, and research-based educational programs help kids enhance their leadership abilities and develop a wide range of life skills.

4-H Youth Development Information
Phone: (858) 822-7730
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Sue S. Manglallan
4-H Youth Development Advisor
Phone:  858-822-7773
e-mail: ssmanglallan@ucanr.edu

OFFICE SUPPORT STAFF

Roland Hills
Administrative Assistant II
Phone: 858-822-7933
e-mail:  rhills@ucanr.edu

Cristina Lomeli
Administrative Assistant II
Phone:  858-822-7872
e-mail: cmlomeli@ucanr.edu

Quang “Hogan” Tong
Administrative Assistant II
Phone: 760-752-4727
e-mail qtong@ucanr.edu

Erin Thompson
Administrative Assistant I
Phone: 858-822-7919
e-mail enthomps@ucanr.edu

Amy Long
Administrative Assistant III
Phone 858-822-7854
e-mail: anllong@ucanr.edu

Lori Renstrom
Management Services Officer
Phone:  858-822-7717
e-mail:  llrenstrom@ucanr.edu

 

PROGRAM SUPPORT STAFF


Loretta M. Bates PhD.
Staff Research Associate III
Phone: (760) 752-4723
Email: lbates@ucanr.edu

Linda Corrales
Program Representative II: 4-H Youth Development
Phone: (858) 822-7976 
Email: lcorrales@ucanr.edu


Jan Gonzales
Project Coordinator: Wildfire and Goldspotted Oak Borer Education & Outreach
Phone: (858) 822-7718 
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu

Ryan Krason
Digital Media Specialist
Phone: (858) 822-7739 
Email: rkrason@ucanr.edu

Lorin Lilikoi Lima
Staff Research Associate (GIS Coordinator)
Phone: (858) 822-7679 
Email: llima@ucanr.edu

Ms. Mary Maser
Program Representative: EFNEP
Phone: 760-752-4721 
Email: mlmaser@ucanr.edu

Debbie McAdams
Program Representative II: 4-H Military
Phone: (858) 822-7735 
Email: dmcadams@ucdavis.edu

Scott Parker
Program Representative III: Master Gardener & IPM
Phone: (858) 822-6932 
Email: saparker@ucanr.edu

Lori Renstrom MA
Management Services Officer II
Phone: (858) 822-7717 
Email: llrenstrom@ucanr.edu

Shirley Salado
EPNEP Rep: Nutrition Educator
Phone: 858 822-7724 
Fax: 858 822-7786
Email: scsalado@ucanr.edu

Margarita Schwarz
Program Representative: Adult EFNEP
Phone: (858) 822-7734 
Email: mschwarz@ucanr.edu

Gary Tanizaki
Farm Advisor Field Assistant
Phone: (858) 822-7689 
Email: gtanizaki@ucanr.edu

Bryan Vander Mey
Staff Research Associate II
Phone: (760) 752-4724 
Email: bvandermey@ucanr.edu

Stella Weaver
Program Representative II: Youth EFNEP, Adult EFNEP
Phone: (858) 822-7720 
Email: sweaver@ucanr.edu

Marianne Whitehead
Title: Agricultural Technician
Phone: (760) 752-4722 
Email: mwhitehead@ucanr.edu