Public Health Champion Awards Ceremony


Public Health Service's Mission: "Protect and enhance the health of the community by promoting health, preventing disease, and communicating public health information."



Live Well, San Diego!
2014 Public Health Champion Awards



The County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency (HHSA) Public Health Services is proud to announce the 13th Annual Live Well San Diego Public Health Champion Awards. These awards recognize the extraordinary achievements, by an individual and organization, in areas of public health services that protect and promote the health of San Diego County residents. The awards were created to recognize the role of public/private collaboration in advancing optimal health and wellness in the County’s diverse populations. This year’s theme award will recognize achievements related to National Public Health Week‘s (NPHW) 2014's theme:

Public Health: Start Here!
Today’s Public Health Professionals are Helping Individuals and Communities Navigate the Changing World of Public Health

The Live Well San Diego Public Health Champion Awards Ceremony is a component of the County of San Diego's Live Well San Diego initiative, a 10-year strategic vision for improving health and wellness and combating the toll of chronic diseases, including obesity.

The County of San Diego is proud to announce the  2014 Live Well San Diego Public Health Champion Awardees. They are as follows:

Theme Awardee - Kay Stuckhardt

Individual Awardee - Dr. Linda Hill

Organization Awardee - Institute for Behavioral and Community Health (IBACH)

Central Region Awardee - Northgate González Markets

East Region Awardee - Pastor Rolland Slade

North Central Region Awardee - Joanne Drinkwater

North Coastal Region Awardee - Healthy Day Partners

North Inland Region Awardee - Susi Jones

South Region Awardee - City of National City

Aging and Independence Services Awardee - Senior Community Center

Director Awardee - Dr. Carleen H. Stoskopf

Director Awardee - San Diego County Medical Society

Director Awardee - San Diego County Medical Society Foundation

Director Awardee - San Diego Alzheimer’s Association San Diego/Imperial

Director Awardee - First 5 Commission of San Diego

The awards ceremony is being held on Friday April 11th 2014 in conjunction with National Public Health Week at the County Administration Center, Board Chambers (Room 310) . The ceremony is scheduled from 1-3pm. A reception will follow in County Administration Center Rooms 302/303.

Reservations for attendance can be made by contacting Elsie Williams at (619) 542-4143  or via email at