Certification and Accreditation

front desk

 

Welcome to The County of San Diego Emergency Medical Services Certifications and Accreditation Page.  Below, you will find information on applications, requirements for certification, and recertification information for EMS provider personnel.

 

California EMSA EMT 2010 project information: 

San Diego County EMS implemented changes July 1, 2010 as part of its compliance with CA Health & Safety Code, Division 2.5.  This resulted in changes to the certification process, including cost and time to process applications.  New fees and requirements, effective July 1, 2010, are posted below.  

 

CA Health & Safety Code, Division 2.5, Emergency Medical Services System and the Prehospital Emergency Medical Care Personnel Act

 

Please contact the certification unit by  email or by phone at 619-285-6429.

file

EMS Certification Services, Requirements & Fees

Mail-In Service for Renewal Certifications (not available for new applicants)

  • Renewal applications for EMT, AEMT, Paramedic and MICN can be submitted six (6) months prior to the expiration date.  
  • Mail-in renewals should be submitted sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date to guarantee timely receipt of your new card.                                                                          
  • Please submit:
    • Completed, signed and dated application form.
    • Required renewal documents as indicated below. Please send copies of cards and certificates. Incomplete applications may be returned.
    • Check, cashier’s check or money order for total due. 
    • A self-addressed, stamped envelope.
    • Send all documents to County of San Diego, Emergency Medical Services, 6255 Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120, ATTN: Certification Services.
    • A digital photo should be sent to the office via email.

Walk-In Service for New and Renewal Certifications 

  • Certification Services Hours and Location:
    • Monday-Thursday 8 am - 4 pm
    • Closed on Friday
    • 6255 Mission Gorge Road, entrance and parking is located on Glacier Ave.
  • Fees may be paid by Credit/Debit Cards, personal check, cashier's check or money order.  
  • Cards accepted include Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover Card with a $2.50 convenience fee per transaction.
  • Cash is not accepted.
  • Completed application form and all required documentation must be submitted at the same time. Incomplete applications may not be accepted.

EMT Certification (NO MAIL-IN SERVICE FOR NEW APPLICANTS)

  • Current Driver's License
  • Current EMT Training Center Course Completion
  • Current National Registry EMT (NREMT) Certificate
  • Current NREMT Card
  • Current CPR Card (Health Care Provider/Professional Rescuer)
  • Live Scan Results (Background check)
  • $92.00 ($75 state fee plus $17 county fee)

EMT Recertification

  • Current State of California EMT Card and County EMT Card or Driver's License
  • Current CPR Card (Health Care Provider/Professional Rescuer)
  • Current State of California Skills Competency Verification Form (with instructions)
  • 24 hours of authorized CE's or 24 hour approved refresher class
  • If you have not all ready done so, Live Scan Results (Background check)
  • $54.00 ($37 state fee plus $17 county fee)

AEMT Certification

  • Current Driver's License
  • Current AEMT Training Center Course Completion 
  • Current CPR Card (Health Care Provider/Professional Rescuer)
  • Live Scan Results (Background check)
  • National Registry AEMT Card
  • National Registry AEMT Certification
  • $92.00 ($75 state fee plus $17 county fee)

AEMT Recertification  

  • Current State of California AEMT Card and County AEMT Card or Driver's License
  • Current CPR Card (Health Care Provider/Professional Rescuer)
  • Current State of California Skills Competency Verification Form (with instructions)
  • 36 hours of authorized CE's or 36 hour approved refresher class
  • If you have not already done so, Live Scan Results (Background check)
  • $54.00 ($37 state fee plus $17 county fee)

Paramedic Accreditation or Renewal of Accreditation  

  • Current County Paramedic Card or Driver's License
  • Current ACLS Card
  • Current State of California Paramedic License
  • Paramedic Training Course completion certificate for new applicants
  • Certificate of Completion from a County approved Accreditation Workshop (if trained out of County)
  • $17.00

MICN Certification  

  • Current Driver's License
  • Current Course Completion of MICN Training
  • Current MICN Exam Certificate
  • Current ACLS Card
  • Current California Registered Nurse License
  • 3 Ride Alongs and 10 Paramedic Calls
  • $17.00

MICN Recertification

  • Current MICN Card or Driver's Licence
  • Current State of California Registered Nurse License
  • 24 hours of Continuing Education
  • $17.00

County of San Diego EMS System ID Card

  • Current Driver's License
  • Current State of California EMT Card
  • Current Out of County EMT-B card
  • Current CPR Card (Health Care Provider/Professional Rescuer)

 *Fees are non-refundable and may be paid by check or money order.  Credit cards and ATM cards are accepted.

 †See the Education and Training page for approved CE providers.

file

Essential Additional Requirements

Live Scan Requirement for EMTs

Misdemeanor or Felony Convictions

Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?  Are they any criminal charges currently pending against you?

If so, please attach applicable court documents and police reports to your County of San Diego EMT or AEMT Application.

Have you ever had a Prehospital License, Certification, Authorization or Accreditation placed on probation, suspension, denied or revoked?  Is your Prehospital License, Certification, Authorization or Accreditation currently under investigation?

If so, please attach a written explanation that describes the incident, any corrective action, and/or remediation as a result of this incident to your County of San Diego EMT, AEMT, MICN or Paramedic Application.

For more information, please refer to Emergency Medical Services Authority Regulations at http://www.emsa.ca.gov/Regulations

See Chapter 4 Section 100174 for Paramedics

See Chapter 6 Section 10214.3 for EMT and AEMT

 

Quarterly Reporting Form for EMTs on Probation

 

file

Links

 

For more information please contact the certification services unit by  email or by phone at 619-285-6429.