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GENERAL INFORMATION FOR 
PROPERTY OWNERS 
 
The property tax administration cycle begins with the 
determination of the taxable value of property.  Each year the 
County Assessor and the State Board of Equalization determine 
the assessed value of real and personal property located 
throughout the County.  The property value is assessed to the 
persons owning, claiming, possessing, or controlling the 
property on the lien date.  Assessed valuation is subject to 
increase based on the Consumer Price Index, up to 2% 
annually per Revenue and Taxation (R&T) Code Section (§) 
51.  R&T (§) 2192 mandates the County levy property taxes for 
each fiscal year.  Tax liens attach annually as of 12:01 a.m. on 
January 1st preceding the fiscal year for which taxes are levied.  
Property owners should notify the County Assessor 
immediately of any change of address to ensure that owners 
receive important notifications and tax bills. 
 
Filing requirements for new property owners 
New property owners must file a signed Change in Ownership 
Statement with the County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk 
within a specified period of time (R&T § 480).  Failure to file 
the required statement will result in penalties added to the 
property tax bill.  In addition to annual property tax bills, new 
property owners will receive one or two supplemental tax bills.  
Refer to Supplemental Tax Bills section for additional 
information. 
 
 

 
 
Filing requirements for personal property owners 
The tax code requires each person owning taxable personal 
property with an aggregate cost of one hundred thousand 
dollars ($100,000) or more for an assessment year to file a 
signed property statement with the County Assessor (R&T § 
441(a)) between January 1st and April 1st.  Property owners 
who fail to file the required statement by May 7 will incur a 
penalty of ten percent (10%) of the assessed value of the 
unreported taxable property.   
 
Tax Exemption Programs 
The Constitution of the State of California and certain 
California Laws contain provisions granting exemption from 
taxation to certain individuals and entities that meet specified 
criteria.  The County Assessor administers the homeowner tax 
exemption program, which allows homeowners to claim a 
$7,000 exemption from the full value of a property used as the 
homeowner’s primary residence; and other programs 
applicable to properties owned by disabled veterans, religious 
organizations, public schools, colleges, and cemeteries. The 
County Assessor also administers programs for lessors, 
historical property, and four percent (4%) documented vessel 
exemptions.  Additionally, the County Assessor and the State 
Board of Equalization jointly administer the welfare exemption 
program.  To receive an exemption, a property owner must file 
a claim for the exemption with the County Assessor.  
Exemptions may not apply to the taxes of certain special 
districts or to fixed charges collected with property taxes. 
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Assessment Appeals 
If property owners feel that the assessed value of their property 
as determined by the County Assessor is incorrect, they should 
contact the County Assessor’s office to discuss the matter.  If 
the dispute cannot be resolved, the property owner may file an 
appeal with the Assessment Appeals Board.  An appeal is filed 
with the Clerk of the Assessment Appeals Boards.  The filing 
period is July 2nd through November 30th of each year. 
 
You may visit the County Assessor’s website at 
http://arcc.sdcounty.ca.gov or contact one of the County 
Assessor’s branch offices for additional information regarding 
filing requirements for property owners, change of address, 
assessed valuation, tax exemption programs, assessment 
appeals, or supplemental assessments.  
 
GENERATION OF TAX BILLS 
 
Tax Rate Area  
Properties are subject to taxation by a number of taxing 
agencies, including the County, cities, school districts, and 
various special districts.  The County Auditor, in coordination 
with the County Assessor and the State Board of Equalization, 
groups properties taxed by the same combination of taxing 
agencies into a distinct Tax Rate Area (TRA).  The County 
Assessor numbers TRAs that appear on the property tax bills.  
There are 5,137 such TRAs in the County.  The Auditor uses 
TRAs in the administration of tax rates and the distribution of 
property tax revenue.  The full list of current year TRAs and 
tax rates are in Table 27 beginning on page 117. 
 

Annual Secured Taxes 
In preparing the secured tax roll, the County Auditor applies 
tax rates to the assessed valuation rolls prepared by the County 
Assessor and the State Board of Equalization.  Proposition 13 
of 1978 limits the maximum ad valorem (according to value) 
tax to one percent (1%) of the full cash value of property.  In 
addition to this one percent (1%) ad valorem tax rate 
established by Proposition 13, a typical annual secured tax bill 
includes tax rates for voter approved debt of school districts 
and special districts.  The Auditor computes these tax rates 
based on the amount needed to make annual payments for the 
interest and principal on general obligation bonds or other 
indebtedness approved by the voters prior to July 1, 1978.  The 
tax rates levied by special districts are computed by the 
districts and transmitted to the County Auditor for inclusion in 
the tax roll.  The one percent (1%) tax rate applies to all taxable 
property values including land, improvements, and personal 
property.  Debt service tax rates may apply to all property 
values, land only, or land and improvements only.  Specific tax 
statutes determine the taxable base value for the various debt 
service rates.  The Assessed Valuation tables starting on page 
24 describe the taxable base value applicable to each debt 
service tax rate included in the current year tax roll.  
 
Special Assessments 
State law allows for the collection of special assessments 
levied by local government entities through the property tax 
bills.  Examples of these assessments include special taxes such 
as Mello-Roos, and fees or charges assessed by a variety of 
special districts to pay for specific additional services or 
benefits to properties located within the districts’ boundaries.  

http://arcc.sdcounty.ca.gov/
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Table 14 beginning on page 71 provides a complete listing of 
fixed charge special assessments added to the tax roll.  By law, 
special assessments cannot be based on property value.  
Instead, the assessment amount is based on other property 
characteristics, or on the specific benefit a property receives 
from the services or improvements provided by the districts.  
Special assessments are administered by the entities levying 
them.  All questions regarding special assessments must be 
directed to them by contacting the telephone number provided 
on the tax bill or in Table 14.   
 
Unsecured Taxes 
Unsecured taxes are not a lien on real property.  Examples of 
unsecured property include boats, leasehold interests, and 
mining claims.  In accordance with State law, tax rates for 
unsecured property are the secured tax rates levied for the 
preceding fiscal year (R&T § 2905).  Since we know tax rates 
applicable to unsecured property at the lien date, billing for 
unsecured taxes starts in January. 
 
Supplemental Taxes 
Supplemental taxes are determined in accordance with Article 
XIIIA of the California Constitution which generally requires 
reappraisal of property whenever a change in ownership occurs 
or property has new construction. The County Assessor 
transmits supplemental assessments to the County Auditor for 
inclusion in the tax rolls.  The value prorate factor determines 
the amount of tax that will be owed from the date of change in 
ownership or completion of construction. 

PROPERTY TAX PAYMENTS   
 
The County mails annual (secured) property tax bills in 
October.  These bills include property taxes and assessments, 
fees, or charges collected with County taxes.  It is the 
taxpayer’s responsibility to obtain a tax bill and pay the taxes 
on their property.  Failure to receive or obtain a bill does not 
justify the waiver of delinquent penalties.  If a taxpayer does 
not receive a tax bill by November 1st, he or she should make a 
request for it to the County Tax Collector.  Property tax bills 
may be paid in person at any of the County Tax Collector’s 
branch offices, by mail, or online.  The property tax bills and 
the County Tax Collector’s website provide detailed 
information on the various options available for payment.  A 
property owner may pay annual property tax bills in two equal 
installments by the dates indicated in the following Important 
Tax Dates section (R&T § 2700.1).  
 
Defaulted Taxes 
Annually, on or before September 8, the County Tax Collector 
publishes a list of property tax parcels that have not been paid 
and are in the second year of default. 
  
Unsecured Taxes 
Unsecured property taxes become delinquent if unpaid by 
August 31st.  Unsecured taxes are due on the lien date, are 
payable on demand, and are subject to a delinquent penalty of 
ten percent (10%).  
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IMPORTANT DATES 
 

     January: Jan. 1 Lien Date – Taxes attach to property as a lien at 12:01 a.m. 
     February:    Feb. 1 Secured property taxes second installment due. 
       Feb. 1-15 Affidavits and claim forms for exempt entities filing period (delinquent at 5:00 p.m. on February 15th). 
     April:  Apr.10 Secured property taxes second installment becomes delinquent if unpaid by 5:00 p.m. 
    Delinquent notices mailed out for unpaid regular secured tax bills. 
     June: June 30 Fiscal Year ends. 
    County Assessor delivers local roll to the County Auditor. 
     July:  July 1 Fiscal year begins. 
      July 2 Assessment appeals filing period begins. 
     October: Oct.  Original secured tax bills mailed out. 
     November:   Nov. 1 Secured property taxes first installment due. 
      Nov. 30 Assessment appeals filing period ends. 
     December:   Dec. 10 Secured property taxes first installment becomes delinquent if unpaid by 5:00 p.m. 
 
  Refer to the County Treasurer-Tax Collector’s website at www.SDTTC.com for additional information regarding taxes and 
  penalties due, payment options, and payment status. 
 
 

http://www.sdttc.com/

