NICK MACCHIONE, FACHE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY WILMA J. WOOTEN, M.D.
AGENCY DIRECTOR PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICER
3851 ROSECRANS STREET, MAIL STOP P-578
SAN DIEGO, CA 92110-3134
(619) 531-5800 * FAX (619) 542-4186

ORDER OF THE HEALTH OFFICER
(Isolation of All Persons with or Likely to have COVID-19)

The spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) is a substantial threat to the public’s health. San
Diego County is currently subject to a declared local health emergency and a proclaimed local emergency
due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the Governor of the State of California proclaimed a state of
emergency. Everyone is at risk for becoming ill with COVID-19, but some people are more vulnerable
to serious illness due to age or underlying health conditions. In order to slow the spread of COVID-19
and prevent the healthcare system in San Diego County from being overwhelmed, it is necessary for the
Health Officer of the County of San Diego (Health Officer) to require the isolation of persons diagnosed
with, or likely to have COVID-19.

The Health Officer therefore ORDERS pursuant to California Health and Safety Code sections, 101040,
120130, 120175, 120215, 120220, and 120225:

1. All persons who have been diagnosed with, or are likely to have COVID-19, must immediately
take the following actions:

a. Isolate in their home or another residence. If isolated in a congregate setting, hotel or multi-unit
setting, the person may not enter any other units within that setting. Persons may only leave their
place of isolation to receive necessary medical care.

b. Carefully review and closely follow all requirements of the Health Officer and medical provider.
(A copy of the Home Isolation Instructions is accessible through the County’s COVID-19
webpage:
https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/hhsa/programs/phs/Epidemiology/COVID%2
0Home%?20Isolation%20Instructions%20for%20COVID-19.pdf).

c. Notify all persons in close contact that they should quarantine themselves for 14 days after the last

contact.
i. The Public Health Officer’s Quarantine Order is accessible through the County’s COVID-19
webpage:

= https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/sdc/hhsa/programs/phs/community _epidemiolo
oy/dc/2019-nCoV/health-order.html.

ii. A person is considered to be a close contact of a person diagnosed with, or likely to have
COVID-19, if within 48 hours before that person’s symptoms began and until that person is
no longer required to be isolated, they:
=  Were within 6 feet of a person who has or is likely to have COVID-19 for more than 15

minutes; or
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= Had unprotected contact with the body fluids and/or secretions (including but not limited
to being coughed on or sneezed on, sharing utensils or drinking out of the same container)
of a person who has or is likely to have COVID-19.
d. Not come within 6 feet of any person, excluding a treating medical professional, a law enforcement
officer enforcing this Order, a representative of the Health Officer, any other person specifically
authorized by the Health Officer, or a caretaker.

2. Individuals are required to isolate themselves because they have, or are likely to have,
COVID-19. Isolation is immediately required if a person meets one or more of the following
criteria:

a. A confirmed positive diagnostic laboratory test for COVID-19; or

b. Signs and symptoms that are consistent with COVID-19 (cough, shortness of breath or trouble
breathing, fatigue, fever or chills, muscle or body aches, headache, sore throat, new loss of taste
or smell, congestion or runny nose, nausea or vomiting, or diarrhea); or

c. A physician has informed the individual that they are likely to have COVID-19.

Such persons are required to be isolated because a person infected with, or likely to have COVID-19,
can easily spread the virus to others. Isolation separates these persons from others to prevent the
spread of COVID-19 and protects those at higher risk for serious illness, such as older adults and
people who have underlying health conditions.

The person shall cooperate with any physician or persons authorized by the Health Officer to perform
medical observation during the period of isolation.

3. Isolation under this Order shall continue until the occurrence of one of the following, as
applicable:
a. Symptomatic Person with mild* to moderate* illness who is not severely immunocompromised:

i. At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared AND

ii. At least 24 hours have passed since last fever (without the use of fever-reducing medications)
AND
iii. Other symptoms improved.
b. Symptomatic Person with severe* to critical* illness or who is immunocompromised*:
i. At least 20 days have passed since symptoms first appeared and
ii. At least 24 hours have passed since last fever (without the use of fever-reducing medications)
and
iii. Symptoms (e.g., cough and shortness of breath) have improved.
c. Asymptomatic Person who is not severely immunocompromised*:

i. A person who has not had any symptoms throughout their infection may discontinue isolation
when at least 10 days have passed since the date of their first positive COVID-19 diagnostic
test.

d. Asymptomatic Person who is severely immunocompromised*:

1. A severely immunocompromised person who has not had any symptoms throughout their
infection may discontinue isolation when at least 20 days have passed since the date of their
first positive COVID-19 diagnostic test.

*For definitions of mild, moderate, severe, and critical illnesses, as well as information specific to
pediatric patients and immunocompromised individuals, please see
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hep/disposition-hospitalized-patients.html.
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Until this time, individuals may not leave their place of isolation or enter any public or private places,
except to receive necessary medical care or testing.

4. Violation of, or failure to comply with, this Order is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment, fine,
or both (California Health and Safety Code sections 120275 and 120295). This Order may be enforced
by any law enforcement officer within an area subject to their jurisdiction for the purpose of preventing
the spread of a contagious, infectious, or communicable disease (California Government Code sections
26602 and 41601, and California Health and Safety Code section 101029).

IT IS SO ORDERED.
MM\ Dated: July 24, 2020

W“ima J. Wogfen, M.D., M.P.H.
Public Health Officer
County of San Diego
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