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ORDER OF THE HEALTH OFFICER
(Quarantine of Persons Exposed to COVID-19)

The spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) is a substantial threat to the public’s health. San
Diego County is currently subject to a declared local health emergency and a proclaimed local emergency
due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the Governor of the State of California proclaimed a state of
emergency. Everyone is at risk for becoming ill with COVID-19, but some people are more vulnerable
to serious illness due to age or underlying health conditions. In order to slow the spread of COVID-19,
and prevent the healthcare system in San Diego County from being overwhelmed, it is necessary for the
Health Officer of the County of San Diego (Health Officer) to require the quarantine of persons exposed
to COVID-19.

Household contacts, intimate partners, caregivers, and any other person who have been in close contact
with a person either diagnosed with COVID-19, or likely to have COVID-19 (COVID-19 Patient), must
quarantine themselves. A “close contact” is a contact with a COVID-19 Patient that occurs anywhere
between 48 hours before the COVID-19 Patient’s symptoms began, and until the COVID-19 Patient is no
longer required to be isolated, and where they:

1. Were within 6 feet of a COVID-19 Patient for more than 15 minutes; or

2. Had unprotected contact with the body fluids and/or secretions (including, but not limited to, being
coughed on or sneezed on, sharing utensils, or drinking out of the same container) of a COVID-19
Patient.

The Health Officer therefore ORDERS pursuant to California Health and Safety Code sections, 101040,
101030, 120175, 120215, 120220, and 120225:

All persons who have had close contact with a COVID-19 Patient must immediately take the
following actions:
1. Quarantine themselves in their home or another residence for 14 days after the last contact with
a COVID-19 Patient. If quarantined in a congregate setting, hotel or multi-unit setting, the person
may not enter any other units within that setting. Persons may leave their place of quarantine to
receive necessary medical care. Essential workers needed to maintain continuity of operations of
sectors  designated in the document available at:  https:/covid19.ca.gov/img/
EssentialCriticallnfrastructureWorkers.pdf, may report to work if they have notified their
employer about the close contact, have no symptoms of COVID-19, and wear appropriate
personal protective equipment as required by their job/position.
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2. Carefully review and closely follow all requirements of the Health Officer and medical provider.
Home Quarantine Guidance for COVID-19 Close Contacts should be followed by those on home
quarantine, because of exposure to a COVID-19 Patient. Guidance is found here:
https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/hhsa/programs/phs/Epidemiology/COVID-
19%20Home%20Quarantine%20Guidance.pdf

3. Unless otherwise authorized by this Order, a person under quarantine may not come within 6 feet
of any person, excluding a treating medical professional, a law enforcement officer enforcing this
Order, a representative of the Health Officer, any other person specifically authorized by the
Health Officer, or a caretaker.

4. If you develop symptoms, please contact your medical provider. Signs and symptoms that are
consistent with COVID-19 include cough, shortness of breath or trouble breathing, fatigue, fever
or chills, muscle or body aches, headache, sore throat, new loss of taste or smell, congestion or
runny nose, nausea or vomiting, or diarrhea. Based on guidance from your medical provider, you
may need to isolate.

a. The Public Health Officer’s Isolation Order is accessible through the County’s COVID-19
webpage:
i. https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/sdc/hhsa/programs/phs/community_epidemiol
ogy/dc/2019-nCoV/health-order.html).

Violation of, or failure to comply with, this Order is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment, fine, or
both (California Health and Safety Code sections 120275 and 120295). This Order may be enforced by
any law enforcement officer within an area subject to their jurisdiction for the purpose of preventing the
spread of a contagious, infectious, or communicable disease (California Government Code sections 26602
and 41601, and California Health and Safety Code section 101029).

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Wilma J. W M P.H.
Public Heal Ofﬁcer
County of San Diego

HHSA: PHS: Health Officer Order Quarantine COVID-19 (7.24.2020).



