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About This Handbook 
 

The School Entry Health Examination Handbook was developed by the California 
Department of Health Care Services and updated by the local Child Health and 

Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program at the County of San Diego Health & 
Human Services Agency. 

 
The handbook is designed to provide information about the School Entry Health 
Examination (also referred to as the School Entry Health Checkup) requirement 
to school staff. This handbook and the forms referenced are available online at 

the County of San Diego CHDP website at: www.chdpsd.org. 
 

For any questions regarding the health examination requirement, ordering forms, 
reporting, or assisting a child in receiving free or low-cost dental or medical care, 

please call the CHDP Program at (619) 692-8692. 
 

 

http://www.chdpsd.org/
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Child Health & Disability Prevention Program Background 
The Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program began in 1967 when an 
amendment to the federal Medicaid law authorized a program for Early, Periodic, Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services for children eligible for Medicaid. The CHDP 
program includes a mandate that all children entering first grade provide documentation of a 
comprehensive health examination completed within 18 months prior to or 90 days 
following the first day of school or have a waiver of this requirement on file. This health 
examination is required for all children regardless of income. 

In 2003, the California Department of Health Care Services established the CHDP Gateway 
Program to ensure more children receiving CHDP services have the opportunity to receive 
comprehensive health coverage at no-cost through Medi-Cal. Through the CHDP Gateway 
Program, children receiving CHDP health exams are electronically screened for Medi-Cal 
eligibility and, if eligible, leave the provider’s office with temporary Medi-Cal health insurance 
coverage. Families then need to complete the Medi-Cal application to continue their insurance 
coverage.   

What Is Considered A Comprehensive Health Examination?  
A comprehensive health examination includes ALL of the following: 

• Health and developmental history 
• Physical exam 
• Immunizations 
• Oral health screening 
• Nutrition assessment 
• Behavioral health assessment 
• Vision screening 
• Hearing screening 
• Health information 
• Lab tests for anemia, blood lead, Tuberculosis screening, and other tests, as needed 

CHDP First Grade School Entry Health Examination Requirement 

All children who enter first grade in a California public, private, or charter school are required 
by California state law to have a comprehensive health examination (also referred to as the 
School Health Entry Checkup) completed within 18 months prior to or 90 days after the first 
day of first grade, or submit a signed parental waiver of the health examination. The intent of 
this requirement is to: 

• Ensure all school children receive a health examination to promote success in school, 
• Increase the number of children who receive a health examination, resulting in fewer 

untreated health problems, less illness, and improved attendance at school, 
• Facilitate school staffs ability to collect mandated forms in a timely manner, 
• Simplify school entry health requirements by having the California School Immunization 

Record and School Entry Health Examination due at the same time, and 
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• Ensure school compliance with California state law (refer to Appendix A). 

Schools are responsible for: 1) informing their students of the school entry health examination 
requirement, 2) assisting them in getting the examination, and 3) maintaining the School Entry 
Health Checkup Requirement form or the Waiver of Medical Examination in student’s files to 
be reported when students enter the first grade. Please read below for acceptable and not 
acceptable documentation for the school entry health examination requirement. 

Acceptable Documentation 
• A parent’s copy of the CHDP Confidential Screening/Billing Report (PM 160) form 

completed by a physician or nurse practitioner (refer to Appendix B), 
• The State-approved health or waiver form* (refer to Appendix C and D), 
• School Entry Health Checkup Requirement (green) form completed by a physician or 

nurse practitioner (refer to Appendix E), or 
• Other complete physical screening forms from a physician’s office that include the same 

comprehensive screening tests as the School Entry Health Checkup Requirement form.  

*Waiver 

The waiver is primarily intended for reasons of deeply held personal beliefs, not as a matter of 
convenience. According to California law (Health and Safety Code, Section 124085) if the 
waiver indicates that the parent or guardian was unable to obtain the services for the child, the 
waiver is to include the reason(s) why.  

If a parent/guardian does not wish to obtain a health examination for their child based on 
personal beliefs, the parent/guardian must sign the waiver portion at the bottom of the School 
Entry Health Checkup Requirement form. However, parents/guardians should be encouraged 
to obtain a health examination for their child. The signing of the waiver should not be used by 
parents/guardians to avoid the important responsibility of obtaining a health exam for their 
child. If the reason for not obtaining the examination is because the parent/guardian cannot 
afford it, every effort should be made to help the family find resources to enable them to get 
the examination. 

Who provides the Health Examination and Signs the Form? 

A licensed physician, certified pediatric nurse practitioner, or certified family nurse practitioner 
performs, or supervises, the appropriate health examination screening 
procedures and completes the School Entry Health Checkup Requirement 
form (or other acceptable documentation) to document that the child 
received the appropriate health screening procedures.  

The school entry health examination is provided by the family’s usual 
source of medical care, including, but not limited to: private doctors, 
community clinics, health department clinics, prepaid health plans, military 
facilities, and some school districts. The health care provider should give 
an explanation and copy of the results of the health examination to the 
parent/guardian. If the child needs a referral for follow-up on medical or 
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dental care, assistance in finding needed services should also be provided. 

Families of children who do not have a usual source of medical care should contact the CHDP 
program for a referral to a CHDP provider at 1-619-692-8808.  

What About Immunizations? 

Immunizations are included in the CHDP examination. Please contact the County of San Diego 
Immunization Department at 1-866-358-2966, visit their website at www.sdiz.org, or refer to 
the new edition of the California Immunization Handbook for further information. 

Unacceptable Documentation 
Verbal confirmation by a parent/guardian is unacceptable documentation.  

Schools must also inform parents/guardians that no-cost health examinations are available to 
eligible children through the CHDP program. The CHDP program assists families to meet the 
first grade health entry examination requirements by linking families to local CHDP providers 
for these services (refer to Appendix F). 

Health Entry Exam Policies  

Is the School Entry Requirement Different for Children Who Attend a Year-
Round School, a Charter School, or Home School? 

There is no difference. The requirement of 18 months prior to first grade entry and 90 days 
after first grade entry applies, regardless of what time of year or age the child enters first 
grade. 

Although it is no longer required, schools and districts are still strongly encouraged to submit 
health examination annual reports to their local CHDP program to allow the County of San 
Diego and community agencies to identify how many local children still lack access to health 
care and to develop strategies to ensure that all children receive the health care they need.  

What if Parents/Guardians Cannot Afford the Health Examination?  

In the interest of the child’s own health and school performance, school personnel should 
make every effort to advocate for the child to obtain a physical examination and refer families 
to services. Children from low-income families may be eligible for a health examination at no-
cost to the family. To qualify for CHDP program services at no-cost to the family, the child must 
live in California and have Medi-Cal insurance, or be younger than 19 years of age, and from a 
family with income at or below 266% of the Federal Income Guidelines. The CHDP program 
can assist families in finding a health care provider that participates in the CHDP program. 
Families can reach CHDP at 1-619-692-8808 for more information. 

Can Schools/Districts Exclude Children From Attending School for Failure 
to Submit the Health Examination Report or Waiver?  
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California law recognizes the importance of health to learning and the important role of schools 
in ensuring the health of students by requiring that students have documentation of a health 
examination before the end of first grade. The law does not require exclusion for failure to 
submit the health examination report or waiver, but a school board may establish a more 
stringent policy in accordance with Section 124105 of the Health and Safety Code.   

If a child has no documentation of a health examination or a signed waiver on file by the 90th 
day after school entry, the governing board of the school or district may exclude the child from 
school for no more than five days beginning the 91st calendar day following entrance into first 
grade. Public schools should contact their district office to determine what their specific district 
policy is regarding exclusions and exemptions from exclusion.  

Grade Retentions  

A Child Repeats Kindergarten 

If a School Entry Health Checkup Requirement form has been submitted, the child does not 
need to repeat the examination. Retain the form in the student’s health record or cumulative 
file as evidence of the child’s health examination. This will count as proof of the SEHE 
requirement and be reported at the time of entry into first grade. If the School Entry Health 
Checkup Requirement form is not on file and the child will be 6 years old (the age of first grade 
entry), before September 1st of the school year, the form must be submitted within 90 days of 
the start of the school year.  

A Child Repeats First Grade 

A School Entry Health Checkup Requirement form should be on file. If the form has been 
submitted, the child does not need to repeat the examination. If the report is not on file, a 
report must be submitted within 90 days of the commencement of the current school term. 
Retain the form in the student’s health record or cumulative file as evidence of the child’s 
health examination for the current school year.  

Transfers 

A Child Has Had a Health Examination in Head Start or State Pre-School? 

If the examination was given within the 18 months period prior to first grade entry, it will meet 
the school entry requirements. If it was given more than 18 months prior to first grade entry, 
the health examination must be repeated.  

A Child Transfers from Another District or State?  

A “grace period” of 30 days is allowed for the transfer of the child’s record. If the School Entry 
Health Checkup Requirement form is included in the child’s record when the school receives it, 
there is no need to repeat the examination. However, if there is no record or the record is not 
within 18 months before first grade, then the child must meet California school entry 
requirements. The child must complete a health examination within 90 days of the date of entry 
into first grade in California.  
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Data Collection and Tracking 
The School Entry Health Checkup Requirement form should be distributed at the beginning of 
the school year in registration packets. Schools are responsible for informing their students of 
the school entry health examination requirement, and maintaining the necessary 
documentation in students’ files.  

School Data Entry Options  

School Entry Health Examination Tracker by Student  
Schools may use the School Entry Health Examination Tracker by Student (a Microsoft Excel 
file) to track each student’s forms. This file allows staff to individually track health examination 
forms, waivers, or no responses of each first grade student in the school. The advantage of 
using this file is that staff may individually track each student (including what he/she submitted, 
waiver reason, etc.) and follow-up with students. In addition, staff will not have to manually 
count and record summary numbers because the Excel file has a feature in which any data 
entered is automatically counted and summed in a separate tab. 
  
When the Excel file is opened, staff will see two tabs (worksheets), one named ‘Student Entry’ 
and the other ‘Summary.’ To begin data entry, type in the names or IDs of all kindergarten and 
eligible first grade students and the grade in which he/she belongs in the ‘Student Entry’ 
worksheet. Upon receiving a School Entry Health Checkup Requirement form from a student, 
type in the student’s name or school ID and enter the student’s information from the form. 
Select the appropriate option from the drop-down box. An example of data entry of a student is 
found below (for a more detailed graphic, please see Appendix G): 
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Data Reporting 

Annual District Summary Report (Appendix H) 
The CHDP Health Examination Report contains the following information: 

• The name of the school, 
• The number of children enrolled in first grade, 
• The number of children who submitted documentation of a completed health 

examination, 
• The number of children who submitted a health examination waiver and the 

corresponding reason, and  
• The number of children who did not submit either documentation of a completed health 

examination or a health examination waiver. 
 
School Entry Health Examination Summary Report (SEHE) 
The Annual School Report – CHDP Health Examination form is a one-page file to be 
completed for each school by the designated school nurse at the end of each school year. This 
form may be typed into electronically or written over and contain all fields of information that 
must be submitted to the school district. This form is different from the Excel file in that the 
school nurse has to manually count and record the summary numbers from students’ records. 
All public school districts and private schools with first grade enrollment are encouraged to 
submit a SEHE Summary Report for the school entry health examination to their local CHDP 
program by January 15 of each year.  

• Public schools should submit their School Entry Health Examination Summary Report to 
their district by December 15th of each year. The District Office then prepares the 
Annual District Summary Report for all school’s entry health examinations (refer to 
Appendix G) based on data sent by schools and submits the information to the CHDP 
Program by January 15th.  

• Private schools will submit their school entry health examination Annual District 
Summary Report directly to the CHDP Program by January 15th. For schools with 
ungraded and/or special education students, only children who are 6 years of age on or 
before September 1st of the current year need to be included in the annual report.       

Data Collection for School Districts 

School districts are expected to compile all data from each public and/or charter school in their 
district. Data should be reported for each school, not a sum of all students in the district. The 
Annual District Report should be submitted to the CHDP Program by January 15th (Appendix 
I).  

There are two ways for a district to collect and submit each school’s health examination data to 
the CHDP program: 1) submit individual school reports in one packet, or 2) fill out and submit 
the Annual District Report – CHDP Health Examination (Microsoft Excel file). To fill out the 
Excel form, type in the appropriate summary number for each school from the school reports 
submitted. District reports may be mailed, faxed, or emailed to the CHDP Program. 
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Other School Entry Health Requirements 
Also important to a child’s health and success in school are these additional school entry 
health requirements: 

• Oral Health Assessment: California law states that a child must have a dental check-
up by May 31st of his/her first year in public or charter school. Refer to Appendix J, K, L 
and M for helpful timelines and checklists for the health examination and oral health 
assessment. For additional information on this requirement, visit 
www.sharethecaredental.org for the Oral Health Assessment toolkit.  

• Immunizations: Visit San Diego Immunization Program at www.sdiz.org for 
immunization requirements for school entry, related materials and resources, or for 
answers to frequently asked questions. You can also reach the department by phone at 
1-866-358-2966. 

For any questions regarding the School Entry Health Examination requirement please contact: 
 

Elizabeth Ferris, MPH 
Community Health Promotion Specialist II 

County of San Diego Health & Human Services Agency | Maternal Child and Family Health 
Services 

Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program 
Elizabeth.Ferris@sdcounty.ca.gov | (619) 692-8692 

http://www.sharethecaredental.org/
http://www.sdiz.org/
mailto:Elizabeth.Ferris@sdcounty.ca.gov
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Appendices 

 
Appendix A. California Health and Safety Codes  
 
124025.  
The Legislature finds and declares that many physical and mental disabilities can be 
prevented, or their impact on an individual lessened, when they are identified and treated 
before they become chronic and irreversible damage occurs. The Legislature finds and 
declares that a community-based program of early identification and referral for treatment of 
potential handicapping conditions will be effective in reducing the incidence of the conditions 
and will benefit the health and welfare of the citizens of this state. 
 
It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this article and Section 120475 to establish child 
health and disability prevention programs, that shall be financed and have standards 
established at the state level and that shall be operated at the local level, for the purpose of 
providing early and periodic assessments of the health status of children. It is further intended 
that child health and disability prevention programs shall make maximum use of existing health 
care resources and shall utilize, as the first source of screening, the child's usual source of 
health care so that health screening programs are fully integrated with existing health services, 
that health care professionals be appropriately represented and utilized in these programs, that 
outreach programs be developed to stimulate the use of preventive health services, and that 
services offered pursuant to this article be efficiently provided and be of the highest quality. 
 
124085.   
On and after July 1, 1976, each child eligible for services under this article shall, within 90 days 
after entrance into the first grade, provide a certificate approved by the department to the 
school where the child is to enroll documenting that within the prior 18 months the child has 
received the appropriate health screening and evaluation services specified in Section 124040.  
 
A waiver signed by the child's parents or guardian indicating that they do not want or are 
unable to obtain the health screening and evaluation services for their children shall be 
accepted by the school in lieu of the certificate. If the waiver indicates that the parent or 
guardian was unable to obtain the services for the child, then the reasons why should be 
included in the waiver. 
 
124105. 
(a) This section shall be known and may be cited as the "Hughes Children's Health 

Enforcement Act." 

(b) The Legislature recognizes the importance of health to learning and to a successful 
academic career. The Legislature also recognizes the important role of schools in ensuring 
the health of pupils through health education and the maintenance of minimal health 
standards among the pupil population. Therefore, it is the intent of the Legislature that 
schools ensure that pupils receive a health screening before the end of the first grade.  

(c) The governing board of each school district shall exclude from school, for not more than 
five days, any first grade pupil who has not provided either a certificate or a waiver, as 
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specified in Section 124085, on or before the 90th day after the pupil's entrance into the 
first grade. The exclusion shall commence with the 91st calendar day after the pupil's 
entrance into the first grade, unless school is not in session that day, then the exclusion 
shall commence on the next succeeding school day. A child shall not be excluded under 
this section if the pupil's parent or guardian provides to the district either a certificate or a 
waiver as specified in Section 124085.  

(d) The governing board of a school district may exempt any pupil from the exclusion 
described in subdivision (c) if, at least twice between the first day and the 90th day after the 
pupil's entrance into the first grade, the district has contacted the pupil's parent or guardian 
and the parent or guardian refuses to provide either a certificate or a waiver as specified in 
Section 124085. The number of exemptions from exclusion granted by a school district 
pursuant to this subdivision may not exceed 5 percent of a school district's first grade 
enrollment. It is the intent of the Legislature that exemptions from exclusion be used in 
extraordinary circumstances, including, but not limited to, family situations of great 
dysfunction or disruption, including substance abuse by parents or guardians, child abuse, 
or child neglect.  

(e) It is the intent of the Legislature that, upon a pupil's enrollment in kindergarten or first 
grade, the governing board of the school district notify the pupil's parent or guardian of the 
obligation to comply with Section 124085 and of the availability for low-income children of 
free health screening for up to 18 months prior to entry into first grade through the Child 
Health Disabilities Prevention Program.  

(f) It is the intent of the Legislature that school districts provide information to parents 
regarding the requirements of Section 124085 within the notification of immunization 
requirements. Moreover, the Legislature intends that the information sent to parents 
encourage parents to obtain health screenings simultaneously with immunizations. 
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Appendix B. CHDP Confidential Screening/Billing Report (PM 160) 
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Appendix C. Report of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171A) 
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Appendix C. Report of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171A) (Spanish)  
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Appendix D. Waiver of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171B)  
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Appendix D. Waiver of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171B) (Spanish) 
 



 

 15 

Appendix E. School Entry Health Checkup Form 
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Appendix E. School Entry Health Checkup Form (Spanish) 
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Appendix F. CHDP and School Entry Health Check-Up Requirements  
School Entry Health Check-Ups 

(Kindergarten/First Grade) 

You want your child to be healthy to get the most out of 
school. Early and regular health check-ups can find, 
prevent, and treat health problems before they become 
serious. That is why California has a law that says all 
children must have a health check-up before they 
enter first grade. 

The health check-up must be completed a year and a 
half (18 months) prior to or 90 days after your child 
begins first grade to meet the school entry requirement. 

A health check-up includes: 

 A health history and physical exam 
 Dental screening 
 Vision and hearing tests 
 Nutritional assessment 
 Development assessment 
 Immunizations, as necessary 
 Urine, blood, and tuberculosis (TB) risk  

assessment 
 Other tests, as necessary 

Before first grade begins: 

If your child had a health check-up at kindergarten and 
a report is not already in school, you need to get a 
report from your child’s doctor/clinic and take it to the 
school where your child will be going. 

If you are not able to pay for this check-up, please call 
Maternal Child and Family Health Services to find out if 
your child is eligible for a no-cost health check-up 
through the Child Health and Disability Prevention* 
(CHDP) program and for on-going complete medical 
and dental care at a price you can afford. 

Please call today (English and Spanish spoken) 

1-619-692-8808 

*CHDP is a state program that pays for health check-
ups and immunizations for children from families with 
low-incomes and children on Medi-Cal.  

Bring to your doctor or clinic: 

1. The School Entry Health Checkup Requirement form 
for School Entry (Green) form. Please complete the 
top part of the form and fill in all of information 
requested from the parent/guardian. 

2. Your child’s California Immunization Record (Yellow 
form). If you do not have this card, ask for one where 
your child had his/her last immunization. 

3. Benefits Identification Card (BIC) if your child has 
Medi-Cal. 

After the health check-up: 

1. Give the School Entry Health Checkup Requirement 
form for School Entry to the school. 

2. Show the Immunization Card to the school then take 
the card home and keep it in a safe place. You will 
need proof of immunizations other times in your 
child’s life. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: If health check-ups or immunizations are against your 
personal beliefs, you must sign a form at the school’s 
office. If your child cannot receive immunizations because 
of a medical problem, bring a doctor’s note to the school. 

If there is a disease outbreak at the school and your child is 
not immunized against the disease, your child cannot 
attend school until the outbreak is over. 

County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency, 
Maternal Child and Family Health Services 

3851 Rosecrans St., Ste. 522, MS: P511-H, San Diego, CA 92110 
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Appendix G. School Entry Health Examination Tracker by Student (Excel File) 
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Appendix H. Annual District Report – CHDP Health Examination  
 
 

School District  # of Schools with First Grade Enrollment  

School Address:  

School Year:  Name of Person Completing Report:  

Phone Number:  Email Address:  
 
Instructions: This form is to be completed by school district staff. Please compile all health examination reports received from 
individual schools and fill in each filed as appropriate. Data must be reported by individual school, not as a sum of all schools in the 
entire district. If you have any questions, please call the Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Health Promotion Program at 
(619) 692-8692.  

 
Name of School Total # of Children 

Enrolled in 1st Grade 
# of Children with 
Report of Medical 
Exam for School 
Entry or Other 

Documentation 

# of Children with Waiver of 
Medical Examination 

# of Children 
with no 

Report or 
Waiver 

Parent does 
not want 

Parent 
unable to 

obtain 

No reason 
specified 

       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

 
I certify that the numbers reported above are true numbers and that the parents or guardians of these children were informed of the 
availability of no or low cost health exams.  

 
Print Name Signature Date 
__________________________________ _________________________________ ___/___/___ 

 
Please keep a copy of this form for your records. Submit this form to your district office by December 15th of the current 
school year. Thank you. 

Revised 07/2016 
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Appendix I. Annual School Report – CHDP Health Examination  
 
 

School Name:  School District:  

School Address:  

School Year:  Name of Person Completing Report:  

Phone Number:  Email Address:  
 
 
Instructions: This form is to be completed by the school nurse. Please count the total number of first grade students from your school 
and fill in the appropriate field. If you have any questions, please call the Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Health 
Promotion Program at (619) 692-8692.  
 
 
1. Total number of students enrolled in first grade  
 
2. Total number of students who submitted documentation of completed health exam  
 
3. Students who submitted a health examination waiver   
 

a. Total number checked ‘Parent does not want the exam’ in waiver section  
 

b. Total number checked ‘Parent unable to obtain exam’ in waiver section  
 

c. Total number submitted waiver but did not provide reason   
 

4. Total number of students who did not submit documentation of completed health or waiver of health exam  

 
 

I certify that the numbers reported above are true numbers and that the parents or guardians of these children were informed of 
the availability of no or low cost health exams.  
 
Print Name Signature Date 
__________________________________ _________________________________ ___/___/___ 
 
 

Please keep a copy of this form for your records. Submit this form to your district office by December 15th of the current school 
year. Thank you.   

 
 
 
 

Revised 07/2016 
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Appendix J. Oral Health Assessment and Health Examination Comparison Table 

The following is a table that shows the brief differences and components of the Oral Health 
Assessment requirement and the School Entry Health Examination requirement.  

 
 School Entry Health Examination Oral Health Assessment 

What 

Comprehensive physical examination 
completed by a physician or nurse 
practitioner. An examination from Mexico 
is acceptable. 

Dental health assessment (screening) by 
California licensed dental health 
professional.  

Who 
First grade students enrolled in public or 
private school. 

Students entering public school for the 
first time in kindergarten or first grade. 

Due 
By the 91st day of first grade (date varies) By May 31 of first year in public school 

(in kindergarten or first grade) 

Acceptable Dates 

18 months prior to entry into first grade 
through 90th day of first grade. 

(March before kindergarten through 90th 
day of first grade, approximately early 
December.) 

12 months prior to entry into public 
school for first time in kindergarten or first 
grade through May 31 of first year.  

(September before first year through May 
31 of first year) 

Waiver Available? Yes Yes 

Exclusion from School 
Attendance if 
Requirement Not 
Completed? 

Yes – for five days beginning 91st 
calendar day following start of first grade. 

No 

Report 
Yes – First Grade report due by 
January 15th to County of San Diego 
CHDP 

Yes – Report due by end of school 
year (June) to school district. 

Form 

School Entry Health Checkup 
Requirement form for School Entry 
(“Green” form from Child Health & 
Disability Prevention Program)   

Oral Health Assessment Form (“Pink” 
form). 
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Appendix K. Oral Health Assessment and Health Examination Checklist 

The Oral Health Assessment and School Entry Health Examination are two different requirements but 
can work together. The following timeline can the process of when to distribute forms and collect data.  
 

February 

□ Begin distribution of Oral Health Assessment forms in 
kindergarten registration packets 

□ Begin distribution of School Entry Health Examination forms 
in kindergarten and first grade registration packs 

August - May □ Collect submitted Oral Health Assessment forms  

August – November 

□ Collected submitted School Entry Health Examination forms 

□ All School Entry Health Examination forms must be 
submitted to the school by the 91st day of first grade 

May 31 
□ All Oral Health Assessment forms must be submitted to the 

school 

June 
□ Compile Oral Health Assessment data and submit to district 

office 

December 

□ Compile School Entry Health Examination data and submit to 
district office 

□ District Office must submit Oral Health Assessment District 
Report from previous school year to the San Diego County 
Office of Education 

January 15 
□ District Office or Private School must submit School Entry 

Health Examination Annual Report to the Child Health and 
Disability Prevention Program 
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Appendix L. School Entry Health Exam and Oral Health Assessment Timeline for Schools and School Districts 
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Appendix M. School Entry Health Exam Timeline for Schools and School Districts 
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