Supervisor Nora Vargas

Supervisor Nora Vargas Headshot

On November 3, 2020, Supervisor Nora Vargas was elected to the San Diego County Board of Supervisors, representing District 1. Supervisor Vargas was sworn in on January 4, 2021, and elected Vice-Chairwoman of the Board.

Supervisor Vargas’ priorities include mitigating the impacts of the pandemic and focusing on economic recovery, while ensuring equity and inclusivity.

Prior to her election to the San Diego County Board of Supervisors, Supervisor Vargas was as en elected member and President of the Southwestern College Governing Board, the only public institution of higher education within San Diego’s South County. Supervisor Vargas served on the Board of Southwestern since her appointment in 2013 and was elected twice to the position.

Supervisor Vargas also served as the Vice President of Community and Government Relations at Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest, where she worked to increase access to safe, quality healthcare, and education for women and families across California.

In 2015, Governor Jerry Brown appointed her to serve on the 12-member California State Teachers Retirement System (CalSTRS) making her the first Latina to be appointed in the board's history. In that capacity, Supervisor Vargas was charged with securing the financial future of California's educators, providing retirement, disability and survivor benefits for California’s educators and their families. CalSTRS is the largest educator-only pension fund in the world and the second largest pension fund in the United States.

For the last 25 years, Supervisor Vargas has worked to drive positive change and serve her community through public service. She is committed to ensuring that marginalized voices are included in the public dialogue regarding important issues such as health access, energy, technology, consumer protection, the environment, civic engagement, pensions and education.

Supervisor Vargas is proud to serve the more than 630,000 residents of District 1 which

encompasses the incorporated cities of Coronado, Imperial, Beach, Chula Vista, National City and communities within the City of San Diego, including Barrio Logan, Chollas View, Grant Hill, La Playa, Lincoln Park, Logan Heights, Memorial, Mount Hope, Mountain View, Nestor, Otay, Palm City, Point Loma, San Ysidro, Shelltown, Sherman Heights, Southcrest, Stockton, Sunset Cliffs and part of Downtown San Diego. The district also includes the unincorporated communities of Bonita, Sunny-side, Lincoln Acres and East Otay Mesa.