Your County Government Community
Kids & Families
Environment Public Safety Jobs
Español Arabic Printer Friendly Font Size Extra Large Font Size Large Font Size Default

Library Help

Library of the Year

Stay Connected!

Facebook Twitter RSS Feed
Email Updates eNewsletters SDCL App

County News Center

How do I apply for a library card?

Apply online or visit your local SDCL branch. Bring a valid photo ID and proof of your current address with you to pick up your card. If you're under 18, you will need to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

  • California residents and military: Free
  • Replacement cards: First replacement is free - subsequent replacements are $1.00 each
  • Non-California resident fee: $5.00 one-time fee

Library cards will not be renewed/replaced unless all overdue fines/fees are paid. Overdue accounts of $100 or more will be subject to collection agency action (Unique National Collections).

The customer is responsible for all materials borrowed on his/her card. Report lost or stolen library cards immediately.

The County of San Diego and the San Diego County Library disclaim any responsibility for the accuracy of the translations.