San Diego County CERT

CERT_logo

What Is CERT?

Local government prepares for everyday emergencies. However, during a disaster, the number and scope of incidents can overwhelm conventional emergency services. The Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) program is an all-risk, all-hazard training. This valuable course is designed to help you protect yourself, your family, your neighbors, and your neighborhood in an emergency situation.

CERT is a positive and realistic approach to emergency and disaster situations where citizens may initially be on their own and their actions can make a difference. While people will respond to others in need without the training, one goal of the CERT program is to help them do so effectively and efficiently without placing themselves in unnecessary danger.

In the CERT training, citizens learn to:

 • Manage utilities and put out small fires
 • How to open airways, control bleeding, treating for shock, and providing medical aid
 • Search for and rescue victims safely
 • Organize themselves and spontaneous volunteers to be effective
 • Collect disaster intelligence to support first responder effort
   

How Do I Join?

Contact your local CERT manager. Jurisdictions with existing teams are listed below. If you don't see your city or community on the list, please contact your nearest fire department and ask the Fire Chief when/if they plan to start a CERT program in your neighborhood.

Go to page top


CERT Programs:

Alpine
Colby Ross
619-445-2635
cross@alpinefire.org

Borrego Springs
Alan Nicholson
760-767-5436
anicholson@borrego-fire.org

Carlsbad
David Harrison
760-931-2137
david.harrison@carlsbadca.gov

Chula Vista
Hugo Bermudez
619-921-2564
HBermudez@ci.chula-vista.ca.us

Coronado
Ruthie Glorioso 
619 522-2497
rglorioso@coronado.ca.us

De Luz
Mike Manchor
760-728-3300
rexranch@att.net

Deer Springs
Liz Heaton
760-749-8001
liz@dsfd.sdcoxmail.com


Del Mar
Joel Carrington
858-755-1522
jcarrington@delmar.ca.us

East County
(El Cajon, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, and Santee)
Monica Zech
619-441-1737
mzech@ci.el-cajon.ca.us

Elfin Forest
Mary (Mickey) Cross
760-744-2034
mickeykc@juno.ca.us

Encinitas
(includes Leucadia, Olivenhain, and Cardiff)
Dismas Abelman
760-633-2814
dabelman@ci.encinitas.ca.us

Escondido
Randy Licata
760-839-5411
rlicata@ci.escondido.ca.us

Imperial Beach
John French
619-423-8223
jfrench@cityofib.org

Inland Valley
Paul Nysen
760-500-2700
paul@nysen.com

Julian
Sheana Fry
760-765-1510
s_fry2000@live.com

Lakeside
Lance Buford
619-390-2350
cert@lakesidefire.com

National City
Walter Amedee
619-336-4556
cert@nationalcityca.gov

North County
(Bonsall, Fallbrook and Rainbow)
Sid Morel
760-723-2015
smorel@ncfire.org

Oceanside
Ted Fritz
760-435-4086
oceansidecert@ci.oceanside.ca.us

Palomar Mountain
Alan Serry
760-742-0444
alserry@msn.com

Poway
Jesus Ramirez
858-668-4483
cramirez@poway.org

Ramona
Joseph Thompson
760-788-2222
joseph.thompson@fire.ca.gov

Rancho Santa Fe
Dave Bispham
858-756-6011
bispham@rsf-fire.org

San Diego Rural
(Barrett Junction, Boulevard, Carveacre, Dehesa, Descanso, Dulzura, Habison Canyon, Jamul, Japatul Valley, Jacumba, Lake Morena, Mountain Empire, Pine Valley, Potrero, and Tecate)
Teresa Greenhalgh
619-206-2358 (c) 619-669-2841 (h)
TGatSDRCERT@gmail.com

San Diego (City)
Carie DeMarco
619-533-4453
cert@sandiego.gov

San Marcos
Matt Wiberg
760-744-1050 x3405
mwiberg@san-marcos.net

San Miguel
Leonard Villarreal
619-961-7620
lvillarreal@smgfire.org

Santee
Michelle Trottier
619-258-4100 x207
mtrottier@cityofsanteeca.gov

Solana Beach
Eric Philips
858-720-2410
ephillips@cosb.org

Valley Center
George Lucia
760-751-7600
georgel@vcfpd.org

Vista
Ned Vander Pol
760-310-0217
nvanderpol@cityofvista.com


Warner Springs
Chris Gilmore
760-782-3560
mvu.warnersprings@fire.ca.gov

Go to page top


 

Important Documents:
Regional CERT Calendar: