For more information call 619-692-8692 or send us an email.
Purpose: Promote school readiness and academic achievement through preventive healthcare.
The Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program Health Promotion unit works closely with schools to promote the following two required school entry health assessments:
- School Entry Health Exam Requirement: All incoming first grade students are required to have had a well-child health exam within 18 months prior to or 90 days after entry into first grade. No cost health exams are available to children in low-income families.
- Oral Health Assessment: California signed into law the Oral Health Assessment requirement (AB 1433) in 2005. AB 1433 requires that children entering public school for the first time (at either kindergarten or first grade) have an oral health assessment performed by a California licensed dentist or registered dental hygienist within 12 months prior to or by May 31 of the child's first year in public school. The ultimate goal of the legislation is to connect children with a dental home.
Families can call 619-692-8808 to learn more or to find a provider in their area.