Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act 

California state law (the Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act - APSA) applies to owners and operators with a total storage capacity, at a single location or site, of 1,320 gallons or more of petroleum in aboveground tanks and containers that are 55-gallons in size and greater. The Department of Environmental Health (DEH)Hazardous Materials Division (HMD) is the Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) responsible for the regulatory inspections of all Tank Facilities subject to APSA in the County of San Diego.  The main purpose of the APSA inspection program is to verify tank facilities have prepared and are implementing a federal Spill Prevention, Control, and Countermeasure (SPCC) Plan

In APSA, the term “petroleum” means crude oil, or a fraction thereof, that is liquid at 60 degrees Fahrenheit temperature and 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute pressure. Petroleum is considered a type of oil regulated under the federal SPCC program. The term “oil” can also include other non-petroleum oils, such as vegetable oil, but those are not regulated under state APSA law.


 Aboveground storage capacity more than 10,000 gallons:

Large Tank Facilities, with a storage capacity of more than 10,000 gallons of oil must use a Professional Engineer to certify the SPCC Plan. Large Tank Facility Sample SPCC Plan.

 Aboveground storage capacity of 10,000 gallons or less:
Tank Facilities with a total storage capacity of  ≥1,320 gallons and ≤10,000 gallons of oil, with limited or no oil releases, are considered "Qualified Facilities" under the federal SPCC rule. There are two types of qualified facilities, Tier I and Tier II. Refer to the HMD APSA Brochure for more details. Qualified Facilities may use ready-made templates to develop their SPCC Plan and may self-certify their SPCC Plan. To assist owners and operators, HMD developed an online course: How to Prepare Your Own SPCC Plan :  A Step by Step Guide for Tier I Qualified Facilities Using the U.S. EPA SPCC Template
Tier I facilities may prepare and self-certify their own SPCC plan. U.S. EPA SPCC Plan Template - Tier I Qualified Facilities
Tier II facilities may also prepare and self-certify their own SPCC plan.  SPCC Plan Template - Tier II Qualified Facilities
Always refer to applicable laws and regulations when deciding which type of SPCC plan to use and when to self-certify.
 APSA Inspection Program Documents:
APSA Facility Statement HM-9501
APSA Violation Checklist HM-950
Unified Program Violation Dictionary
Guide to Understanding Tanks in Underground Areas in the APSA Program


Presentations from 08/09 APSA Workshops:

 APSA Inspector Online Training

Information about the APSA Inspector Online Training