Business Licenses

This web page is to confirm that business certificates (licenses) are no longer required for businesses in the unincorporated portions of the County of San Diego. The Board of Supervisors deleted this requirement in August 1998.

Communities in the unincorporated portions of San Diego County include, but are not limited to:

Alpine, Bonsall, Bonita (91902), Borrego Springs, Boulevard, Campo, Crest, Cuyamaca, Dehesa, Descanso, Dulzura, Fallbrook, Granite Hills, Harbison Canyon, Hidden Meadows, Jacumba, Jamul, Julian, Lake Morena, Lakeside, Pala, Pauma, Pine Valley, Potrero, Rainbow, Ramona, Rancho Santa Fe, Rancho San Diego, San Dieguito, Spring Valley, Sweetwater, Tecate, Twin Oaks Valley, Valle de Oro, Valley Center, Warner Springs.

While a business certificate (license) is not required from the County, businesses must comply with rules and regulations affecting businesses. For information regarding applicable rules, regulations, and permits, please visit the State of California Business Portal CalGold.

Requirements for Incorporated Cities
Please be advised that incorporated cities may require a business license when conducting business within city limits. Applicants are encouraged to contact the respective city for rules and regulations governing their business license practices.

The County of San Diego Requires:
Registration of a Fictitious Business Name

Licensing for Health Permit & Food Handler’s License