UCCE Directory

FHA_Logo150x150

DEPARTMENT HEAD

Larent Ahiablame
County Director
Phone: 858-822-7673
E-mail: lmahiablame@ucanr.edu

AGRICULTURE

Farm advisors conduct applied research and carry out educational programs to address the needs of agricultural producers in San Diego County. Their specialties reflect the diversity of San Diego agriculture. Farm advisors develop close working relationships with the clientele of the industries they serve, sharing their collective expertise in a wide range of subjects: integrated pest management and plant protection (entomology, plant pathology, and weed science); irrigation, reclaimed water, and water quality issues; waste management and agricultural recycling; and the economics, production, and marketing of local crops.

Agricultural Information
Phone: 858-822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Ramiro E. Lobo
Small Farms & Agricultural Economics Advisor
Phone (858) 752-4716
e-mail: relobo@ucanr.edu

Cheryl A. Wilen, Ph.D.
Area Integrated Pest Management Advisor
Phone: (858) 822-7795
e-mail: cawilen@ucanr.edu

Oli Bachie
Agronomy Advisor, based in Imperial County
Phone: 760-362-9474
e-mail: obachie@ucanr.edu

Carmen Gispert
Viticulture Advisor, based in Riverside County
Phone: 760-342-2466
e-mail: cgispert@ucanr.edu

Sonia Rios
Area Subtropical Horticulture Advisor, based in Riverside County
Phone: 951-683-6491 Ext. 224
e-mail: sirios@ucanr.edu

 

HOME HORTICULTURE/GARDENING

The Home Horticulture Program provides horticulture and pest management information to county residents who grow edible and ornamental plants for their personal use. The program promotes integrated pest management, landscape water conservation, recycling of green waste, and other practices that help improve the quality of our urban environment. Master Gardener volunteers are recruited and trained to provide home horticulture information to the public through office and phone consultations, educational exhibits, gardening seminars, and other outreach activities.

Master Gardener Volunteers
Gardening & Pest Information Hotline
9AM to 3PM, Mon-Fri
Phone: (858) 822-6910
E-mail: help@mastergardenerssandiego.org

Scott Parker - Program Representative III
Phone 858-822-6932
E-mail: saparker@ucanr.edu 

 

NUTRITION, FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE

The Nutrition, Family, and Consumer Science program provides San Diego consumers and families with science-based information about foods and nutrition, food safety, and family resource management. Nutrition education targeting limited income families and youth is available through the Expanded Food Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP). We offer educational updates and resource materials to professionals including dietitians, teachers, public health educators, community health workers, child care providers, and senior service case workers.

Nutrition, Family, and Consumer Science Information
Phone: (858) 822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Patti Wooten Swanson, Ph.D.
Nutrition, Family & Consumer Science Advisor
Phone: 858-822-7719
e-mail pwswanson@ucanr.edu

 

NATURAL RESOURCES

The Natural Resources program addresses a range of local issues, including watershed management, inland and coastal water quality issues, non-native species, land use planning, and invertebrate pests. Advisors promote sound management and conservation of San Diego County's marine and natural resources through research, education, and good working relationships with a broad range of people. Our clientele includes: private land owners; resource management professionals; local, State, and Federal government agencies; the agriculture industry; conservation and environmental organizations; and users of public lands and waterways.

Natural Resources Information
Phone: (858) 822-7711
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Christopher McDonald
Natural Resource Advisor, based in San Bernardino County
Phone: (909) 387-2242
e-mail: cjmcdonald@ucanr.edu

Niamh Quinn
Invertebrate Pest Advisor, based in Orange County
Phone: (949) 653-1813
e-mail: nmquinn@ucanr.edu

 

4-H YOUTH DEVELOPMENT

The objective of the 4-H Youth Development Program is to help young people discover their potential and grow into competent, contributing, and caring citizens. Learn-by-doing activities, youth-adult partnerships, and research-based educational programs help kids enhance their leadership abilities and develop a wide range of life skills.

4-H Youth Development Information
Phone: (858) 822-7730
E-mail: cesandiego@ucdavis.edu

Sue S. Manglallan
4-H Youth Development Advisor
Phone:  (858) 822-7773
e-mail: ssmanglallan@ucanr.edu

OFFICE SUPPORT STAFF

Lea O'Reilly
Administrative Assistant II
Phone: 858-822-7933
e-mail: lboreilly@ucanr.edu

Gary Tanizaki
Administrative Assistant II
Phone 858-822-7689
e-mail: gtanizaki@ucanr.edu

Erin Spaniel
Administrative Assistant I
Phone 858-822-7919
e-mail: enspaniel@ucanr.edu

Sue Lake
Administrative Assistant III
Phone 858-822-7854
e-mail: slake@ucanr.edu

Lori Renstrom
Administrative Officer III
Phone:  858-822-7717
e-mail:  llrenstrom@ucanr.edu

 

PROGRAM SUPPORT STAFF

Jan Gonzales
Community Education Supervisor II
Phone: (858) 822-7718
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu

Ben DiAnna
Digital Media Specialist
Phone: (858) 822-7739 
Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu

Robert Padilla
Media Communication Specialist
Phone: (858) 822-7679

Annika Nabors
Lab Assistant II 
Email: ajnabors@ucanr.edu

Ms. Mary Maser
Program Representative: Expanded Food & Nutrition Program
Phone: 760-752-4721 
Email: mlmaser@ucanr.edu

Debbie McAdams
Community Education Specialist II: 4-H Program
Phone: (858) 822-7735 
Email: dmcadams@ucdavis.edu

Scott Parker
Community Education Specialist III: Master Gardener & Integrated Pest Management
Phone: (858) 822-6932
Email: saparker@ucanr.edu

Isaac Elkon
Program Representative: Expanded Food & Nutrition Program
Phone: (858) 822-7677
Email: imelkon@ucanr.edu

Shirley Salado
Community Education Supervisor II: Expanded Food & Nutrition Program
Phone: 858 822-7724
Email: scsalado@ucanr.edu

Margarita Schwarz
Community Education Specialist: Adult Expanded Food & Nutrition Program
Phone: (858) 822-7734
Email: mschwarz@ucanr.edu

Fritz Light
Staff Research Associate II
Phone: (858) 822-7872
Email: flight@ucanr.edu

Bryan Vander Mey
Field Research Supervisor I
Phone: (760) 752-4724
Email: bvandermey@ucanr.edu

Stella Weaver
Community Education Specialist II: Youth Expanded Food & Nutrition Program
Phone: (858) 822-7720
Email: sweaver@ucanr.edu

Marianne Whitehead
Agricultural Technician
Phone: (760) 752-4722
Email: mwhitehead@ucanr.edu

Lea Corkidi
Agricultural Technician
e-mail: lcorkidi@ucanr.edu

Abigail Barraza
Community Education Specialist II
Phone: (858) 822-7796
Email: afbarraza@ucanr.edu

Leah Taylor
Staff Research Associate II
Phone: (760) 752-4722
Email: leataylor@ucanr.edu