Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC)
For more information phone 619-692-5723 or send us an email.
The San Diego County Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) Program provides patients with the State medical marijuana identification card, a voluntary card registration program that identifies medical marijuana patients under the Compassionate Use Act.
Please note: MMIC application fees will be reduced on July 1, 2019. The new non-refundable fee will be $44 (or $22 for Medi-Cal beneficiaries).
In 1996, California voters passed Proposition 215, also known as the Compassionate Use Act. The Compassionate Use Act of 1996 (Health & Safety Code, section 11362.5) ensures that seriously ill Californians and their primary caregivers, who possess or cultivate marijuana for the personal medical purposes of the patient upon the recommendation or approval of a physician, are not subject to California criminal prosecution or sanction. However, the Act does not protect marijuana plants from seizure or individuals from federal prosecution under the federal Controlled Substances Act.
Senate Bill 420 (SB 420) was passed in 2002 to assist law enforcement in identifying Californians who were protected by Proposition 215 and to provide patients and their caregivers with a form of identification that would protect them from arrest and prosecution.
In 2004, The Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) was established by the California Department of Health Services to facilitate the registration of qualified patients and their caregivers, through a statewide identification system. Participation in the program is voluntary for patients and the patient’s primary caregiver. Qualified patients and their caregivers may apply for and be issued an identification card through their county of residence. This card can be used to verify that a patient and/or caregiver has authorization to possess, grow, transport and/or use medical marijuana in California.
NOTE: It is unlawful to operate any vehicle while under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or other drug. This includes all prescription medications, over-the-counter preparations and any other substance that may cause impairment when driving.
How do I Apply?
Click here to obtain complete details about how to apply for the Medical Marijuana Identification Card.