As of 3/20/2023, the Office of Vital Records has moved to:
5560 Overland Avenue, Suite 130
San Diego, CA 92123
|Certificate Type||Certificate Fee|
to California Health & Safety Code 102400, each live birth
which occurs within California must be registered with the local
registrar for the district in which the birth occurred, within 21 days
following the date of the birth. Birth certificates submitted for
registration beyond the 21 day mandate may be accepted by the local
registrar, but they must be properly registered within one year of the
date of birth. Birth Certificates may be obtained in person, ordered
by mail, or purchased online. E-mail requests will not be
Call the office at 619-692-5733 if you have questions - Se habla Español.
There are two types of birth certificates available:
- Authorized Certified Copy - Authorized Individuals only, Notarized Sworn Statement required.
- Informational Certified Copy - All other individuals, no Sworn Statement required.
To Obtain a Birth Certificate IN PERSON
The Office of Vital Records can provide birth
certificates from 1957 – present only. To obtain a certified birth
certificate at our office, you will need to have the following
information available when you arrive:
- The child's full name as stated on the birth certificate
- The mother's full MAIDEN name
- The child's date of birth
- The child's place of birth
For a regular certified copy, you will need to sign a sworn statement, under penalty of perjury, that you are an authorized person. For definition of an Authorized Person, click "Authorized Individual" Effective July 1, 2003.
Those who are NOT authorized by law to receive a
regular certified copy will receive a certified copy marked:
'Informational, Not a Valid Document To Establish Identity.'
If you have an emergency (i.e., leaving the country or state, have an airline flight, or need to obtain a passport within 14 days of the birth), you must apply for a certified copy of the birth certificate at our office in person.
The cost for a certified copy of a birth certificate is $32.00. Payment may be cash, check, or money order payable to County of San Diego Public Health Services. Credit and debit cards are accepted through VitalChek.
Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
|Office Location:|| 5560 Overland Avenue, Suite 130 |
San Diego, CA 92123
To Obtain a Birth Certificate BY MAIL
To request an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a Birth Certificate, you
need to completely fill out the Application
for Certified Copy of Birth Record and Sworn Statement and
Certificate of Acknowledgement. Be sure to indicate in which category
you qualify as an authorized person and to sign the Sworn Statement in
front of a Notary Public. We CANNOT process your request without this
NOTE: If you are requesting CERTIFIED COPIES, of more than one (1) individual, you may list their names in the box provided on the sworn statement and have just one (1) acknowledgement for all individuals. However, you MUST have a separate Application for Certified Copy of Birth Record for each individual.
For an INFORMATIONAL CERTIFIED COPY of a Birth Certificate, you need only to completely fill out the Application for Certified Copy of Birth Record. There is no need of completing and notarizing the second page of the application is you are requesting an INFORMATIONAL COPY. Forward the signed request and payment to the address below. The cost for either copy is $32.00. Payment may be check, money order, or cashier's check made payable to County of San Diego Public Health Services. DO NOT SEND CASH.
Office Mailing Address:
| County of San Diego |
P.O. Box 429001
San Diego, CA 92124
To Obtain a Birth Certificate Online Through VitalChek
To request and purchase a birth certificate online, please visit the VitalChek website. *VitalChek is a third party website.
- Select Birth Certificate
- Complete the online application
- Pay fees by credit/debit card or electronic check
- Certificate fee - $32 per copy for birth certificate
- VitalChek processing fee $12.95
- Shipping fee (no cost for regular mail or $19 for Express UPS overnight delivery)
For more information, please visit the VitalChek website or call 1-877-459-1061
If you would like information on how to correct a vital record or
amend a birth certificate, please refer to the California Department of
Public Health site.
For the most frequently asked questions and answers on birth certificates read the Birth Certificates FAQs.
For more information send us an email or phone 619-692-5733.