The Mountain Empire Subregion contains six areas with their own unique identities, but they are similar in many natural characteristics such as topography, water resources, and environment. These areas are Tecate, Potrero, Boulevard, Campo, Jacumba, and the remainder of the plan area.

Because it is a port of entry, the Tecate area has certain land uses which are unique. Its proximity to Tecate, Mexico, has given rise to intensive uses which are generally nonresidential and which have been established without the benefit of a Country Town Regional Category or a Specific Plan.

        - Mountain Empire Subregional Plan, San Diego County General Plan

Tecate Sponsor Group 
Fact Sheet