Flood Control - Special Drainage Areas

Special Drainage Area Brief History

Prior to the establishment of the SDA’s, the County was divided into seven zones. Between 1975 and 1976, the San Diego County Board of Supervisors acting as the Board of Directors for the San Diego County Flood Control District (FCD) adopted comprehensive plans for flood control and drainage for many of the zones in the District. The comprehensive plans established the need for new facilities within these zones. Drainage maintenance fees were collected and distributed in each zone. In 1980, the Board of Supervisors adopted the Drainage Fee Ordinance and, in the early 1990’s, the drainage fee rates for 10 Special Drainage Areas (SDA’s). A Special Drainage Area is defined as a local or neighborhood land area, where water that flows over the land due to rain, comes together to a single location, such as, into a storm drain pipe. The County currently collects drainage fees for new and re-development based on the total square footage of the proposed structure. The fees that are collected are used to upgrade or construct new drainage facilities. The current drainage development fee and SDA boundaries were adopted by the Board of Directors of the San Diego County FCD on May 23, 1989.

The specific SDA areas are listed below:

  • SDA 1 – Spring Valley / Casa de Oro
  • SDA 2 – Valle de Oro
  • SDA 3 – Sweetwater
  • SDA 4 – Jamul
  • SDA 5 – Bostonia
  • SDA 6 – Lakeside
  • SDA 7 – Alpine
  • SDA 8 – Ramona
  • SDA 9 – San Dieguito
  • SDA 10 – North County Metro

Map of SDA (.pdf)

The purpose of the Drainage Master Plan is to plan for future drainage improvements. The Update to the Master Plans are necessary, because as development occurred over the years the land uses and ground cover changed and drainage standards were updated as well. It became necessary to re-evaluate the Drainage Master Plan in order to account for the revised land uses and drainage standards and more accurately predict and plan for required future drainage facilities and improvements. This was accomplished by:

  • Creation of an existing drainage inventory
  • Calculation of stormwater runoff based on future/planned land uses
  • Identification of recommended drainage improvements
  • Estimation of probable construction costs for the recommended facilities
  • Prioritizing implementation for facility construction
  • Calculation of drainage fee updates

Ordinance 6 - SDA Spring Valley / Casa de Oro (.pdf)
Ordinance 7 - SDA Fees for Building Permits (.pdf)
Ordinance 8 - SDA Amendment to Ordinance 6 (.pdf)
Ordinance 9 - SDA Amendment to Ordinance 7 (.pdf)

Ramona CPG (SDA-8)     July 11, 2011
Flood Control District Advisory Commission November 8, 2012
Crest/Dehesa CPG (SDA-5/SDA-6)   July 8, 2013
Twin Oaks Valley CPG (SDA-10) July 17, 2013
Spring Valley CPG (SDA-1) July 23, 2013
Lakeside CPG (SDA-5/SDA-6) August 7, 2013
Jamul/Dulzura CPG (SDA-2/SDA-4) August 13, 2013
Alpine CPG (SDA-7) August 23, 2013
Sweetwater CPG (SDA-3) October 1, 2013
BIA - Stormwater Group November 8, 2013
San Diego County Taxpayers Association November 8, 2013
San Dieguito CPG (SDA-9) November 14, 2013
BIA - City/County Legislative Group November 15, 2013
Valle De Oro CPG (SDA-1/SDA-2) TBD
North County Engineers TBD

Once the SDA plans and fees have been updated, they will be formally presented to the Community Groups.  Once feedback is received and incorporated, staff will go before the County’s Flood Control District Advisory Commission for their consideration.  Ultimately the plans and fees will be presented to the San Diego County Board of Supervisors for their consideration, and approval.

Back to Main Flood Control Home Page

If you have questions or would like additional information, 
call the County Stormwater hotline at 1(888) 846-0800
or e-mail us at watersheds@sdcounty.ca.gov

Report a Stormwater Violation On-Line

If you see a County storm drainage system in need of maintenance, contact the County Department of Public Works Field Operations staff at (619) 443-1260 weekdays or contact the Stormwater Hotline at 1(888) 846-0800.  For after-hours emergencies contact (858) 565-5262. 

Department of Public Works
Flood Control
5510 Overland Ave., Suite 410, MS O326
San Diego,  CA  92123,  USA
(858) 495-5318           Fax: (858) 495-5263