San Diego County STEMI System

San Diego County’s STEMI Critical Care System is a specialty care component of the EMS system that was developed in 2006 and is based on recommendations from national organizations, evidence-based practices, and current peer-reviewed literature. This critical care system links prehospital and in-hospital care to deliver treatment to STEMI patients who potentially require immediate medical or surgical intervention.

There are currently fourteen (14) STEMI Receiving Centers designated by the County of San Diego EMS Agency. Thirteen of these hospitals are located within San Diego County. Temecula Valley Hospital, located just north of San Diego County in Riverside County, primarily receives STEMI patients who live in the far north County.


San Diego County STEMI Receiving Centers:
Palomar Medical Center
Paradise Valley Hospital 
Scripps Memorial Hospital Encinitas
Scripps Memorial Hospital La Jolla
Scripps Mercy Hospital Chula Vista
Scripps Mercy Hospital San Diego
Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center
Sharp Grossmont Hospital
Sharp Memorial Hospital
Temecula Valley Hospital*
Tri-City Medical Center
UCSD Medical Center - Hillcrest 
UCSD Medical Center - La Jolla
UCSD Medical Center - East Campus

* Temecula Valley Hospital is located in Riverside County

STEMI System of Care Regulations for California became effective July 1, 2019:  California Code of Regulations, Title 22. Social Security, Division 9. Prehospital Emergency Medical Services, Chapter 7.1 ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction Critical Care System