San Diego County Stroke System

San Diego County’s Stroke Critical Care System is a specialty care component of the EMS system. This critical care system links prehospital and in-hospital care to deliver treatment to stroke patients who potentially require immediate medical or surgical intervention.

San Diego County has eighteen (18) designated stroke receiving centers. All receiving centers are certified by The Joint Commission.  Seventeen of these hospitals are located within San Diego County. Temecula Valley Hospital, located just north of San Diego County in Riverside County, primarily receives stroke patients who live in the far north County.


San Diego County Stroke Receiving Centers:
Kaiser San Diego Medical Center
Kaiser Zion Medical Center
Palomar Medical Center
Palomar Medical Center - Poway Campus
Paradise Valley Hospital
Scripps Memorial Hospital Encinitas
Scripps Memorial Hospital La Jolla
Scripps Mercy Hospital Chula Vista
Scripps Mercy Hospital San Diego
Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center
Sharp Coronado Hospital
Sharp Grossmont Hospital
Sharp Memorial Hospital
Temecula Valley Hospital*
Tri-City Medical Center
UCSD Medical Center - Hillcrest
UCSD Medical Center - La Jolla
UCSD Medical Center - East Campus

* Temecula Valley Hospital is located in Riverside County

Stroke System of Care Regulations for California became effective July 1, 2019:  California Code of Regulations, Title 22. Social Security, Division 9. Prehospital Emergency Medical Services, Chapter 7.2 Stroke Critical Care System