ECPR Pilot Program


Out-of-hospital cardiac arrest patients meeting specific criteria may benefit from rapid transport to a hospital staffed and equipped to provide extracorporeal cardiopulmonary resuscitation (ECPR) using extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO).

National and international EMS systems adopting this new resuscitation model have established 24/7 ECPR-capable receiving facilities for these patients.

To explore the feasibility of establishing such a system in San Diego County, the EMS Office created the San Diego Resuscitation Consortium (SDRC) Workgroup.

This Workgroup evaluated the feasibility of implementing an ECMO/ECPR program that promotes health equity in an operationalizable, sustainable, and transparent manner.

This interdisciplinary Workgroup is comprised of representatives from EMS and hospital settings, including emergency physicians, cardiologists, specialized nurses, and administrators. Robust quality assurance and data collection are key components of the ECMO/ECPR pilot system. This Workgroup has provided regular progress reports to the EMS Medical Director during regular Base Station Physicians’ Committee meetings. 

The EMS Medical Director has approved EMS Treatment Protocols, effective July 1, 2023, that specify inclusion criteria for the ECPR Pilot Program. Patients identified by paramedics in the field via S-127A ECPR criteria will be eligible for transport to an ECPR Receiving Center. As additional hospitals qualify for participation, County EMS will add them to the Pilot Program.


ECPR Receiving Centers

  • Sharp Grossmont Hospital
  • Sharp Memorial Hospital
  • Scripps Memorial Hospital La Jolla