Parents and Guardians

During Your Pregnancy: Initial Steps


Laboratory Testing

  • As required by the state of California under California Health and Safety Codes (125080 and 125085), your provider will order some laboratory testing to see if you have Hepatitis B. 

  • If you have been tested for Hepatitis B previously, it is recommended that you are tested during each pregnancy.

  • The County of San Diego Public Health Department receives all positive Hepatitis B lab reports as laboratories are required to report these results to us by law under Title 17.

  • For labs that are from women of childbearing age (14–45-year-olds), we will reach out to providers to verify pregnancy status.

  • If we discover that a female is Hepatitis B positive and pregnant, they will be enrolled in our program. Our program is free of charge.

While Enrolled in Our Program

What to Expect

Medical staff talking with patient

1) Phone Call

  • A nurse case manager will call you to get information about your:
    • Contacts
    • Prenatal care provider
    • Planned birthing hospital
    • Pediatrician
  • The nurse case manager will provide you with an overview of our program.

2) Introduction Letter

  • This letter will be mailed to your home. This will contain your nurse case manager's business card, as well as some resources and information about our program. 

3) Coordinating with birthing hospitals and pediatricians

  • Your nurse case manager will work with your planned delivery hospital and pediatrician to ensure that your child receives the proper vaccines needed at birth and during their infancy, as well as the proper laboratory testing.







Your child will follow either a 3 or 4 dose series of Hepatitis B vaccine with their pediatrician. 

Your child will receive both the Hepatitis B vaccine and Hepatitis B Immune Globulin doses in the hospital.

  • Both should be administered within 12 hours of birth.
  • Both should be administered in opposite thighs.


1 to 2 Months
2nd dose of Hepatitis B vaccine is usually given between 1-2 months of age. Your child may receive a combination vaccine that protects against other diseases as well as Hepatitis B if they are older than 6 weeks of age.




4 to 6 Months
3rd dose is typically given at 6 months of age. However, if your child is on a 4-dose series, they may receive their 3rd dose at 4 months of age and their 4th dose at 6 months of age. 


Laboratory Testing


9 to 12 Months
Once your child has received the appropriate number of vaccines at the correct times, your child's pediatrician will order laboratory work known as post-vaccine serology testing (PVST). 

PVST consists of: 

  • Hep B surface antigen (HBsAg) 


  • Hep B surface antibody (anti-HBs) (quantitative)

Both labs will be able to help us determine whether your child has developed immunity/protection against Hepatitis B and whether they have the disease.

Resources and Additional Information

We look forward to working with you and your family to help prevent the transmission of Hepatitis B to your child.

Please find some additional resources below.

Perinatal Hepatitis B Brochure

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at 866-358-2966 and select 'option 5' to speak to a public health nurse or email us at