The Mountain Empire Subregion contains six areas with their own unique identities, but they are similar in many natural characteristics such as topography, water resources, and environment. These areas are Tecate, Potrero, Boulevard, Campo, Jacumba, and the remainder of the plan area.

The Boulevard area developed as a linear, highway-oriented community and that orientation has been altered by the construction of Interstate 8. As a result, there now is a need to reassess the existing land use pattern. Due to easy accessibility to Interstate 8 and its link to the metropolitan area, new growth may occur in this rural area.

    - Mountain Empire Subregional Plan, San Diego County General Plan

Boulevard Community Planning Group.
Fact Sheet


Expand All | Collapse All


Expand All | Collapse All